1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD3850 or HD4670 ?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by sweeper, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Continuing on my build I have a choice to purchase a Saphire HD3850 512MB 256-bit DDR3 which I'm using now (used) or a Saphire HD4670 1GB 128-bit DDR3 which I ordered from newegg which hasn't arrived yet due to Adverse weather conditions. Before I open up the HD4670 (when it arrives) the question is, should I keep the HD3850 or use the HD4670 and give back the 3850. I only paid $50.00 for the 3850 which has been flashed to a 3870. But it's used and a 2007 video card. Opinions please.

    Thanks....

    you can check my current system specs on the left. :)
  2. werez

    werez New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Romania
    you don't have a choice . Use the 4670 :)) Neah .. just joking around . Any new tech is welcomed in my oppinion so stick with the 4670 . The numbers are better right ?
    sweeper says thanks.
  3. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    772 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Use the flashed HD 3850 until you can afford an upgrade thats actually worthwhile. The HD 4670 isn't and upgrade, its a sideways move.
    angelkiller and sweeper say thanks.
  4. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Well the only advantage the 4670 would have is openCL/ATi Steam support(the hd3000 series have really poor support) and the ability to use ATi's buggy video decoder
    sweeper says thanks.
  5. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    The problem is I ordered the HD4670 to replace the onboard video I was using after the upgrade. Then my brother decided to get a new video card HD5670 and now I am stuck with figuring out 3850 or 4670. The 4670 was ordered before I knew he was going to buy a new card and let me buy his 3850 ($50.00). My funds were low and I decided to go with the 4670 so I ordered it form the EGG before I knew about the 3850. I have the 3850 running now and it's quick and runs about right compairing the benchmarks to TomsHardware's video benchmarks. The 3850 and 4670 are neck and neck with the 4670 gaming a bit higher in SOME games. So, now I'm stuck. Do I just give the 4670 to my brother to sell or use it and give him his 3850 back? I really don't want to open up a new box that he could sell "NEW" just to find out they are the same or it's slower. There are just a few sites that compair the two cards. Some say 3850 some say 4670 most say 4850 or higher. :(
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Keep 4670, sell 3850, simples!

    That way the "upgrade" was of very little cost : ]
    sweeper says thanks.
  7. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,033 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    797
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Your avatar would run hotter than those cards:D, but yeah I would go with the HD4670
    sweeper says thanks.
  8. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    lol ... Danica Patrick .. good looks, smarts, excellent driver, what else can you ask for in a woman? ;)

    Well, the 4670 requires no power to the card other than the PCI-E slot while the 3850 requires a power connector. This gives the extra OC to the 3850 while the 4670 is limited due to it's lack of extra power connector. Though it does draw less power. Just wondering which would do better on BIOSHOCK 2. . . hmmmmmmmmm. :confused:
  9. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    772 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Your brother should sell you a used HD 3850 for less than $50. Sit on him and fart until he concedes.

    Heck my best friend would just give me his old hand-me-down cards after an upgrade. I always made sure I was at his house whenever he did. ;) Your own flesh and blood should cut you a better deal. :D
    AlienIsGOD and sweeper say thanks.
  10. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    yeah right....... he either wants the 4670 to sell or the 3850 for $50.00 bucks. Heck he charged me $35.00 for ram he had sitting around. I gave him one stick back so I'm just gonna give him $15.00 for his 1GB DDR2 667 now.

    What price do you think I should pay for a 2007 HD3850 512MB 256-bit DDR3 PCI-E ?
  11. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,033 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    797
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    sweeper says thanks.
  12. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Yes, she races Indy car (Go Daddy car) , Nascar Nationwide Series (#7 Go Daddy car) and is gorgeous.

    You have a XFX HD5970 just sitting under your bed..... WHY? That's quite an expensive card just to sit there. (Black Edition I assume?)

    I think I have some dust bunnies under my bed. lol

    My screen res is 1680x1050 but I don't generally play at that high resolution. Generally keep it much lower 1280x1024 or some where in there. I have a 22" monitor so the lower the res. the crappier it looks. So I try and get it to a res that looks and plays well. Bioshock 2 is what I will be playing the most. But that's about the heaviest gaming it will see. I'm looking for a good all around card for that game, video, photo editing, HD video, schooling, audio/video ripping, video editing.
  13. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,033 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    797
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy



    AH sweet, well she would rape my arse in a race, but I would do the same to her in bed lol:D


    lol Im selling the HD5970 off, just waiting till the bid ends on gaybay! 5days 2 go, and yeah its a black edition.

    I didnt know wat dust bunnies were so I googled it and they are the funniest cutiest furriest thing i have eva seen lol :p.

    Well if your gaming at that resolution I would go for the HD4670, your on a budget Im assuming.:eek:
    sweeper says thanks.
  14. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    yeah I'm TRYING to stay on a budget. I did get a decent tax return but do I really want to go out and pick up a $200+ card?? I already have one (delayed by weather UPS) coming tomorrow HD4670 and a HD3850 here. My basic ideal system is a mid-range system to last for a few years or more. I had my P4 system since 2004 till just this past Saturday. So I don't upgrade a whole lot. Maybe a graphics card or a CPU if necessary.
  15. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,033 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    797
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Ah I see, well wateva you do, dont upgrade that avatar of yours lol, could you afford a HD4850, HD4770 or a HD5750.
    sweeper says thanks.
  16. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    I could as of right now due to my income tax return BUT, then I would have 2 cards to sell, one being brand new. I'd start losing money.
  17. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    The 4670 can still overclock fairly actually.

    All the low end ati cards can overclock insane amounts actually.

    Got a hd4350 up to 800mhz once.
    sweeper says thanks.
  18. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    I guess I'll use the HD4670 and hope for the best. I guess it will be easier to sell the 3850 rather than a New In Box 4670 and get what you paid for it. Hopefully it works out. (If it ever shows up....). Guess it was held up due to weather or some crap. I dunno. Ordered it Monday and now it's Friday. Shipped monday, now it's Friday. 2-3 day is what I was told. Must have been bad in spots. I know it didn't stop the trucks here from flying by and blowing crap all over your windshield. :p
  19. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    If you've got it I'd still slap after market cooling on the card :p

    Its not worth buying after market for a 4670 but if you have it already : ]


    These are clocks to expect on stock cooler if its the copper one


    "Using the CCC, we were able to overclock the HD 4670 to the maximum allowable clock settings: 800 MHz for the core, and 1100 (2200 effective) for the memory. This was stable enough to not crash during 1.5 hours of continual benchmark loops -- though the copper cooling plate was getting a little bit on the hot side (i.e, similar to the HD 4850's regularly operating temperatures!) "
    sweeper says thanks.
  20. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Good info to know. Hopefully I'll get some good performance out of it. :toast:
  21. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,033 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    797
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    well bioshock 2 shouldnt be that much of a demanding game, I mean it looks exactly like the first one, the graphics dont even look improved but thats just me so the HD4670 might be the way to go!
    sweeper says thanks.
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Now I am not demeaning the 4670 at all, it's a good card for what you get.

    IMO, return the 4670 & sell the 3850, then once the 3850 sells pickup a 4850 off the 'egg or maybe even PaulieG's GTS250 that's listed in the forums' BST.
    sweeper says thanks.
  23. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Return it? How would I return it and get credit rather than just a replacement. Anytime I've returned something to the 'egg' they have just replaced it with the same thing. I've never been given a choice to have the money put back into a paypal account.

    On another note my brothers HIS HD5670 with the same MB, Ram but a faster CPU benches slower than my HD3850. I outscore him from Aquamark to 3DMARK06. He's running a Phenom II X4 Black Edition. I'm confused as heck on how to tell what is a good performer and what isn't..... Used to be straight forward back in the day of AGP.
  24. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    447 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    Drivers
    sweeper says thanks.
  25. T3kl0rd

    T3kl0rd

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    490 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    With a choice like that, I figured you would be using AGP. Get a HD 4850, best bang for the buck right now. =P
    sweeper says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page