1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD4800 series Spikes

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by jdf, Oct 2, 2008.

  1. jdf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello, i have seen some spikes on my HD4850 when at idle, it constantly changes from 500-750 to 625-990... if i leave the GPU-Z window on, there is no spikes...but if i open and close windows i see the spikes...

    Is this normal? Do any of your guys with HD4850/4870 series see this? And why does this happens? I'm a bit worried about this :(, any help is apreciated :)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. SANEagent New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    83 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    that sounds like CCC changing the speeds on the card.
     
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    powerplay at work
     
  4. jdf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi tank you for answering, so can i consider this normal?
     
  5. SANEagent New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    83 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    yeah, that is normal
     
  6. jdf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a friend with a 4870X2 and he says that he doesn't see this behaviour at idle, if someone has anything more to add, please do :)

    Anyone with a 4850, who could clear my doubts?
     
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,610 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    Maybe do a complete wipe of the GPU drivers and re-install or bump to the lates drivers, assuming you arent using the CCC8.10 beta's.
     
  8. jdf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i could do that..yes i'm using CCC8.10 beta..lol...But..i saw this behaviour with the final 8.9 too... ok i'll just clean it up to see what happens.
     
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,610 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    jdf says thanks.
  10. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    [​IMG]

    Looks like I get the same thing, it's just Powerplay. This is normal behavior.
     
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  11. Zanga New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    My 4850 does the same stuff. In general the spikes appear when gpuz loses focus and there is another program runing behind wich has a slight animation or changeing text. For example looking into a bittorent window makes the card swich speeds as the download / upload / peers data varries.
     
    jdf says thanks.
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,610 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    one major difference tho urb.....look at your GPU load compared to the OP. He has no spikes there where yours almost exactly coincide with your clock spikes!
     
  13. jdf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Yes i can see that! do you see it all the time? Test this leave the Gpu-z active with no other windows open...this will leave the lines with no spikes....then open some folder or anything and see if it reacts on the graph. This is what happens with mine...as soon as i start to opens windows it spikes. lol
     
  14. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I dunno, He has one little load spike too. I'm 99.9% sure that this is just Powerplay, and is completely normal.

    Edit: @jdf, I see the exact samething.
     
    jdf says thanks.
  15. jdf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Tank you Urbklr.. :) for clearing my doubts...i guess it's just like you said above, it's just powerplay, maybe other programs interfere with it at idle, making it change the clock speeds.
     
  16. nafets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    611 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    For HD4850/HD4870 users this is PowerPlay at work, and is perfectly normal.

    HD4870 X2 users will not see this happen as PowerPlay is disabled...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page