1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD4850 and Furmark

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by TheMailMan78, May 24, 2009.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,416 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,902
    Ok I was just running Furmark stability test and after about 300 seconds and 90 degrees the screen froze and an LED lit up on the back of my 4850 which is my slave card in crossfire. What the hell just happened. Overheat?
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,149 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,419
    red LED on the card should be power.

    Then again, furmark doesnt like me in crossfire either - mine blanks out to a white screen.
     
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,416 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,902
    LED means not enough power? Really?
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,149 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,419
    if you boot the PC without power connected, the red LED starts up.

    its known that the 48x0 cards have issues with furmark, so dont leap to any conclusions just yet.
     
    TheMailMan78 says thanks.
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,416 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,902
    Ah ok. Thanks :toast:

    Its now 3am and I'm half a bottle of whiskey in. Red LEDs scare me.
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,149 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,419
    we both have crossfire 4 series cards, we both have the same PSU, and we both have problems with furmark.

    i vote we blame furmark until you're sober enough to test more.
     
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,416 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,902
    Vote passed.
     
  8. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    I'll give FurMark a go when I get my loop installed....my second cards (HIS' shitty "Fan" model) VRM's get to 104'C with the stock air cooler when I run it in Benchmark mode, far too hot for my liking.


    Edit: My other card, a ref design XFX with the stock ATI cooler, runs at 98'C on the VRM's...shitty aftermarket coolers designed by idiots shoudnt be put on cards. :shaedshu


    Take note, HIS!

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1396068&postcount=3068
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page