1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD4850 died? help pls.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by jeppy, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. jeppy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi im just new here. & this is the problem, I believe my powercolor hd4850 died already. Under normal circumstances everytime I start my computer I can hear my Hd4850 fan running I believe at 100% fanspeed (its loud) but it only lasts for about 2-3 seconds & the fan goes back to normal when the monitor finally shows info and starts to boot up. That has been the case for the last 6 months, but its ok. So is that normal? :shadedshu

    But last week, when I open my computer, all that I hear is the loud fan from my HD4850 and it doesn’t boot up. I removed the card and plug the monitor to the on-board video & my cpu starts normally again. I put it back, & again all that I hear is the loud video fan & wont boot up. So definitely my HD4850 is the culprit why it doesn’t start. :banghead:

    I have a Gigabyte Superb 550, 450 watts psu.
    Core2duo E8400 no overclock
    2 gig
    Asus p5kpl g31 mobo.


    Im just a noob actually, I have very limited idea about that bios thing. I want to know how I can fix this thing or what could be the reason?

    Thank you in advance. ;)
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    yes. thats normal.

    the 4850 not powering up is the syptom, now you need to find the cause. your PSU failing could also cause this, as removing the card would take a over 100W of power consumption off the PC.

    sounds like a cheap PSU to me - dont look into BIOS flashes or anything like that, they NEVER fix problems like this.



    on paper your PSU looks to be sufficient with two 18A rails.
    [​IMG]

    that said, if one of the rails was weakening it would give the syptoms you have described - as would a dead card.
    jeppy says thanks.
  3. jeppy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ^thanks mussels


    yes. its really a cheap psu. damn. but i thought it was enough since hd4850 requires 450 watts only and my psu is just nearly 1 yr. old. And the box says 550 watts as its maximum capacity. damn. :banghead:

    maybe i can try my card w/ someone else's pc. I just wonder whether it could have killed my card? :(
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    it may have, it may not have.

    test it in someone elses PC, or borrow someone elses PSU. on the plus side, at least you know the rest of your PC is still good since it works with the onboard.
  5. jeppy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes tnx again. thats what im going to do.. ill post an update soon. :toast:
  6. jeppy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi! So it aint dead yet! Yesterday before i decided to have a long travel at my friends house, i decided to put my 4850 back in my cpu, and to my surprise, it worked! And i even played crysis for 2 hours with no problem
    .. But then this morning the problem was there again, pc wont boot up. On my third try, its ok again, played gta4 for 3 hours.! & now im puzzled wats causing this?
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    well that rules the card out as being the problem.


    I'd be thinking PSU again - it could be a loose power cable to the video card, for example. Or maybe its a dying capacitor that only works sometimes (and if the PSU manages to start up, it stays working til the PSU shuts off and cools down)
  8. Metropolis

    Metropolis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Good old powercolor i have had four of them until i was given a free upgrade because they pretty much bricked it, it is possible that it is the GPU RAM, GPU core or the PCI-E connectors are faulty, but normally when its bad or in my case it would fire up, fans spin up but the display LED on the monitor would flash

    normally in the end, it will just go defective altogether, id try RMA'ing that first, if you can ask for an alternative brand
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,940 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    Dude my GPU manual recommended a 450 Watt PSU at the Minimum. I dont think your PSU has enough muscle to run that card.
  10. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    jeppy says thanks.
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,940 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    best if he goes for a 620 watt model
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    corsair PSU's are underrated. 450W VX corsair is easily as good as a 600W generic.
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,940 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    i dont care if anything is underrated or not, its a 450 watt PSU that got him here in the first place
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    you should be aware that wattage means nothing and amperage means everything.

    screenshot i posted earlier shows his old one has two 18A rails (or, two 215W rails)

    The corsair has one 33A rail - or one 396W rail
    [​IMG]


    its not like his system isnt powering on here, its just that his secondary rail (the one with the PCI-E plug) seems to be failing. a brand name 450W vs a generic 450W is no competition - the brand name will always win out.

    By your logic, if he needs a 620W unit my PC must be a fire hazard due to having two of a more powerful card on a 750W corsair.
  15. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,174 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    The recommended psu for a 4870 is 500 watts,ooh i'm pushing mine then as its only 520.But its a corsair so bugger it.I agree with Mussels.

    I have ran 2x4850 on xfire with this psu fine.
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,940 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    I got this 500 watt Antec Neo HE 500 3 years ago (grandfather used the 460 watt out of it in another machine), before I even upgraded the video card. I then upgraded the video card which apparently required a 450 watt PSU to run. Machine is still going strong (refuses to overclock further than 2.2GHz on CPU tho :()
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    the 'reccomended' PSU requirements play it safe, and talk about generics since thats what most people have.

    "reccomended" 450W means "cheap 450W generic minimum"
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,940 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    im glad i picked up the PSU i did, i mean being under 100 USD at a retailer was awesome
  19. jeppy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ^thanks guys... im such a noob i dont know anything about that ampere lol. :laugh: im definitely going to get a corsair psu, maybe next week.. most people are recommending me that brand. But surely, ill get 550w or more, it wont be long before i upgrade anyway.
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    its not a bad idea to get a more powerful one, especially on a unit with a 5 year warranty. you'll have the thing for quite a long time.

    its just not neccesary for the PC you have right now, is the point we were making earlier.
  21. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    If the PSU doesn't work, I would be interested to see if baking the card in an oven would:p. I've been obsessed with success stories of baking a component to fix it:)
  22. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    968 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Even xbox's!!
  23. mx500torid

    mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    742 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    752
    Mussels is right:rockout:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    725 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    +1 for corsair. I had just started using that brand for the first time and I'm in love, it's quiet and has a ton of power and just reeks of quality right down to the way its packaged.
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,853 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,392
    Yeah I would say your PSU isn't handling the load as Mussels suggested. I would go Enermax or Corsair if I were you. I also agree with eidairaman1 and would go with at least a 650 watt. Not that a good 450 couldnt handle the 4850 but why skimp on power? A 650 watt would allow future upgrades where a 450 would limit the guy.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page