1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hd4850 + Epu

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Pinchy, Oct 5, 2008.

  1. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Couple of questions with my 4850.

    Firstly, I just got an asus p5q-e. Now I noticed with the EPU, the GPU support list only supports ASUS cards. Is it really only ASUS cards or will my HIS 4850 be fine?

    Now if I need my 4850 to be ASUS...can I just flash the card to an ASUS BIOS or do I need to worry about differences in memory and such?

    Also a side question...my card is idling at like 80*C. Is this normal lol? Fan speed is only at 25%. Havent checked load temps.
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    80c wow turn up the fan dude lol

    idk about the epu :p
    Pinchy says thanks.
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yeah thats what I thought :p..

    I only checked GPU-z tonight. What prog will turn the fan up?

    Also I got no CCC installed. Does Powerplay need CCC to work?
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    The new 8.10 Catalyst driver suite has fan profiles in CCC.

    I'm iffy on it but pretty sure that's a no.

    Oh also as far as brand goes, you could just use RBE and switch the vendor. Anyone know whats so special about the Asus cards?
    Pinchy says thanks.
  5. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    There have been reviews where the card is idling above 80degC at stock speeds.
    After gaming my HD4850 will eventually idle about 76-78degC.
    If I haven't been gaming it will creep up to 73-74degC by itself.
    It's summer here and room temp is about 28-30degC.
    My average max load is 94degC.

    Don't know anything about the EPU sorry.
    Pinchy says thanks.
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE

    ASUS has some awesome GPU programs that will change the fan speed and overclock it. It only works if it detects it as a ASUS GPU.
    JrRacinFan and Pinchy say thanks.
  7. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Yep its normal. Its simply a preference for silence over lower temps. It shouldnt move too much under load though as the fan ramps up. However, some people prefer a more aggressive fan profile where the minimum speed is higher (lower idle temps) and it ramps up quicker (lower load temps). Obviously this is more noiy and in a quiet system you can here the fan speeding up and down which isnt pleasant.

    Also powerplay works by itself. Its coded into the bios to switch clocks in different types of situations (load).
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2008
    Pinchy says thanks.
  8. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    That all sounds pretty sweet :cool:

    Thx for the replies! :)

    Ill be installing the P5Q when I wake up (in about 8 hours). Ill get back to you all and tell if it (EPU) works, incase anyone else has the same prob.


    And yeah JR, as Shadow said, ASUS includes a really nice software bundle which is pretty handy if you dont want to use other programs on the net. Only downfall to them is they only work on ASUS Cards lol.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That's what I was thinking but wasn't 100% positive. Thanks for confirming Shadow!
  10. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Changed to ASUS vendor in RBE and got nothing.

    Looking for an ASUS EAH4850/HTDI/512M Bios :)
  11. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Flashed to EAH4850 BIOS found in BIOS collection and it still didnt work. I was like wtf :p...then realised I had to install smart doctor.

    Installed smart doctor and EPU is now working with the VGA. The computer thinks its an EAH4850.

    Not sure if smart doctor would have worked if I simply changed the vendor in RBE, as I didnt try.
  12. Zanga New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    77 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    How does the EPU affect the video card? EPU should work on the MB using different phases for the CPU to save energy adapted to the changes in clock speed.
    I saw on Asus site that smart doctor now support EPU, but it does what ?
  13. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    EPU uses software to control the seperate engines (cpu/gpu/nb/ram/hdd/fans)
    Zanga says thanks.
  14. Zanga New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    77 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Didn't know of the ram, hdd, fans because all this works on the EPU II - 6 Engine.
    On my P5K-PRO MB there is EPU I with AI GEAR 3, so no go for other subsystems.
  15. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ah right.

    Just an FYI (if you dont already know), on the P43 there is only the EPU 4 engine, which only has CPU/GPU/Hard drives/fans.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page