1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD4870 Fan scaling

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Gzero, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Anyone know if it is a bios bug to scale at the wrong temps?
    I checked it with RBE and it says it is supposed to ramp up at 80'C, but it seems to like keeping the temp at 89 after hours of use.

    Right now I have rivatuner covering it, and under clocked the card to CCC's lowest keep it at 45'C at 30% fan speed (I have a loud 120mm to cover for the noise :p).

    Right now I put it at stock clocks when I want to play demanding games. Just wondering why I have to use riva to keep my room cooler.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    578 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    You're best off just using the Overdrive section of Catalyst control center to manually set a fan speed.
     
  3. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Nah, I've got rivatuner doing the scaling job for me, based on core temp. Seems to be working out well. I was just wondering if it was 'normal' behaviour for the fan to stay at 0% the majority of the time, which is only 900rpm. Yes that keeps it very silent, but it almost means the card sits at 90 degrees when it can sit at 50 easily.
     
  4. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    578 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    900 rpm is way too slow, especially with the reference ATI cooler. Then again if you prefer an idle temperature of 70c+ on your GPU I can't argue. Me, I'll settle for the 26c temp my card idles at with the fan running at 4000 rpm.
     
  5. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Haha, I've got it to ramp up to 60% (4k rpm) when over 65'C, it makes for a noisy start to windows ^^ but you can watch the temp graph and it cools so quickly.
     
  6. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,946 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    I use Rivatuner's scheduler for fan scaling as well. But instead of core GPU temperature, I use core Memory IO temperature.

    35% - >62C
    40% - 62-68C
    55% - 69-77C
    65% - 78-85C
    75% - 86-92C

    For higher fan duty cycles, I use the VRM phase 2 temperature instead.
    85% - 102-109C
    93% - 110-115C
    100% - >115C

    But it doesn't exceed 75% anyway (I only reach that for only a few seconds, and very rarely during a game) unless I really stress my GPU.
     
  7. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    I haven't had the chance to try out any heavy games for long periods yet, the 4870 is a beast, running underclocked 500gpu and 450mhz on the ram and it still can run Spore and CoD4 (promodlive 250fps).

    I'll keep an eye on the VRM's and Mem IO (that used to sit at 99'C, my room isn't warm it's just me :p).

    I've more or less been keeping an eye on my watt meter, 130w web browsing isn't bad for the performance I'm getting, that's just a few watts off my old p4 pc that isn't even running at full clock (1.7ghz).
     
  8. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    578 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Man, you guys have some hot running cards. Mine never goes above 80c even under OCCT or furmark.
     
  9. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,946 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    I'm in a tropical country, and it's a stock-cooler HD 4870. When I turn on the air conditioning it really affects temperatures too.

    I've run through Furmark for 5 mins. Core GPU Temp never reached the 80s while Core memory IO Temp never reached 90s. VRM phase 2 temp reached up to 112C though, so the higher duty cycles kicked in. Although it was only for the last 30 seconds or so that it was at 93%. Mostly 55%-65%, then less than a minute for 75%-85%.
     
  10. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    578 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    It's not exactly cool where I am in southern florida daytime temps are 95f+ nighttime not much cooler at 85f
     
  11. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Lol well I'm not in a tropical country, my card spins to full speed on boot start, then shuts up for a bit, then in windows full speed for a quick bit then silent again. Might clean the drivers next release (been a bit naughty just installing by picking update).
     
  12. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    hi sorry to ask this in your thread but i thought it would be better then starting up a new one i have a hd 4850 and unless i set the fan speed to a certain amount to keep the temps down. What i want to be able to do is have it controlled by temps, if the temps rise fan speed rises temps go down fan speed goes down. is there anyother way then using Rivatuner that ouve mentioned? sorry again to steal your thread
     
  13. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    578 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    You can use rivatuner to set a ramp up table based on GPU temp. But I find it easier just to set the fan to 100% (4000 rpm) in CCC and take advantage of full cooling at any level of GPU usage. Starting out with a cooler card means it doesn't get as hot in the first place. For exmple my Sapphire using the "auto" fan scaling Idles at 40c with a fan speed of 900 rpm, when heating up it ramps up eventually reaching ~90c at a 3000 rpm fan speed. Compare that with a 26c idle and ~75c load temp when set at 100%
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  14. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Nah that is what this thread is about.
    Like chuck says having rivatuner gives you the best control.

    I don't want to run my fan at 100% since that is 4845rpm, and way too loud.

    I thought a neat solution would be to rip out the gpu bios and replace the temp control settings there, but it was already set up properly and clearly isn't doing what it is set to do (unless there is a bug in RBE?).

    It's better using riva over CCC to set fan speed since CCC can't do variable control dependent on your gpu temp, whilst a little fidding (and resolution changing, the add item window is too tall in 1440x900) in riva can give you good control over what speed the fan spins at in temperature ranges.

    Link for guide: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=272323
    There is two extra settings that aren't mentioned in the guide:
    In Scheduler, there is Data sampling period and Task Freezing period. Mine are set to 500.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2009
    ste2425 says thanks.
  15. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,946 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    Still the same, and as I've said the high temperatures aren't exactly the norm. And besides when you take into account how my system looks like inside (you can find my "Why is it x8" thread in this forum and see pics), and considering that Florida is only actually a "tropical dry" climate and not a "tropical wet" country like us i.e. more humid, thus atmosphere is "hotter" too.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page