1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD5870 into FirePro

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by FilipM, Apr 13, 2010.

  1. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Is there any FirePro equivalent to the HD5870 and if so is it possible to make a crossflash to a FirePro? I'll be doing some 3ds max rendering, will it be fine on a standard HD5870?
  2. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    the Firepro 8800 is the R870 version but its not released yet I think and no you can't crossflash

    the performance in 3DSmax should be decent . . . . but still not very good like 10fps in heavy renders

    if someone with a HD5870 here can test it for you that would be nice because the info i know is based on when I used a friends of mine a couple months ago.
    FilipM says thanks.
  3. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    OK, one problem though. We are using 3ds max 2010 64 bit and it only uses the cou for rendering. Is there a way to force it yo use the GFX? GPGPU?
  4. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    no, u can't force it to use GPU,

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page