1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD7850 not performing well

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by chr0nos, Jun 18, 2014.

  1. chr0nos

    chr0nos

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Mexico
    So recently I got a XFX HD7850 and tried to game with it but the performance is horrible.

    Tried H.A.W.X. everything to the highest settings and i only get (1080p) 15-25 fps (DX10 mode BTW)

    SYS Specs:

    CPU DualCore Intel Core 2 Duo E7500, 2933 MHz (11 x 267)
    MB Intel Pearl Creek DG31PR (2 PCI, 1 PCI-E x1, 1 PCI-E x16, 2 DDR2 DIMM, Audio, Video, Gigabit LAN)
    RAM Kingston 1x2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM
    PSU Cooler Master Real Power 550w
    OS Windows 8.1 (Clean OS)
    Monitor Samsung T27B750

    Checking system spec recommended the system should handle it at 60fps no problem.
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765
    run it in DX9. that game was poorly optimised for DX10


    also, your CPU and ram are rather weak by todays standards, and may be the cause of some of your issues.
     
    AlienIsGOD and chr0nos say thanks.
  3. chr0nos

    chr0nos

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Mexico
    heheh I know they are weak but i used to have a HD6670 and on Torchlight II got around 27-35 fps max settings. Same game HD7850 same FPS something not right.
     
  4. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Aye the CPU is fairly weak by today's standards and your a little light on ram. You can probabily find a nice QX quad core or e8600 chip that would overclock quite well.
    Also, try bumping the core clock on the video card a little, but I don't think it'd make much difference is you are CPU/ram bottlenecked.

    Your getting the same fps as the GPU isn't the bottleneck. Overclock your cpu a little and you'll see a bump in FPS if you want to check for yourself.
     
    chr0nos says thanks.
  5. chr0nos

    chr0nos

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Mexico
    Cant OC the CPU the motherboard wont let me (No bios OC), I did OC the CPU using some software the other day but had constant lockups as soon as oced by 10 mhz or more xD

    Seems like im stuck for the moment with this POS CPU/MB will try to upgrade to i3/h87 latter (no money $$ :cry:).

    Thanks for all the answers.
     
  6. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765

    as someone with a hella-lot of CPU's and boards around the house right now, an i3 is the best 'budget gamer' - my i3 matches or beats my i5 in single or dual threaded benchmarks at stock clocks.

    only when you get into DX11 games that truly support multi threading (like Battlefield 4) will an i7 be worth it, and then your video card wouldnt be good enough anyway.
     
  8. URBAN303

    URBAN303

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    119 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Radeon HD 7850 has excellent capabilities of overclocking! 1050/1300 (non-oc base = 720Mhz) but at *1050Mhz the card is very stable! ^^

    edit : (vddc 1138 with Sapphire Trixx Software)
     
  9. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    540 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    i had that same card with a q6600 oc'd at 3.7 And it was just about enough cpu for the card.
    i went to an i5-2500k and realized much better performance,
    as an example.

    q6600 @3.7 with with 7850 1150/1200 Thief in game bench test. average fps = 28
    i5-2500k @ stock with 7850 1150/1200 thief in game bench test. average fps = 65

    I will state that thief is a pretty badly optimized game. but a lot of games are.. the difference however as you can see is a big one.
    The q6600 + 7850 were good enough to play any game if tweaked. But in all honesty i dont think the q6600 should be paired with anything much more powerful than a hd 5770.
    i would say that your cpu was already bottel necking your 6670 or atleast it was about as good as it could use. (6670 really is just a re vamped version of the 5 seriese and can even be used with a 5x card in crossfire)
     
  10. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    You got two big issues.

    CPU, there is no way in hell you'll get 60 FPS running 1080p with a stock Intel Core 2 Duo E7500. You are asking too much. Memory, 2GB of DDR2 will not meet the requirements for running modern games.

    Drop in a second hand Q9xxx and upgrade the memory to 8GB .
     
  11. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Singapore
    Do you have only 1 ram stick in the pc? Oh wow that's going to be a huge slow down. Your system is with an external memory controller and only running at single channel mode.
    That will cause slow load times and lag spikes during game play.
     
  12. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    540 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    1x2 gb is really bad i hadnt noticed that. It is a very limiting factor of your system, even 2x1gb would be better
     
  13. chr0nos

    chr0nos

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Mexico
    thanks for all the answers

    yeah i knew the cpu was a bottleneck but HAWX is a 2009 game, were recommended settings are a core 2 duo 2gb ram so maybe I hoped too much.

    as for the single-dual channel been there done that not much difference...

    I'll have to endure a few months with it until i can afford an upgrade :p
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765

    recommended settings are more like the real minimum - good enough to run the game at 30+ FPS, on low-medium settings. they're not about running everything on max.

    and yeah the single channel will hurt oh so bad, maybe it didnt with your last GPU, but it sure will on the new one.
     
  15. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Your right about single and dual channel, it often makes no difference. But 2GB of total capacity is seriously not enough. It's barely enough to run Windows 8 operating system let alone any games on top.

    As Mussels said, the recommended settings the manufacturer supply are often just enough to "run" the game with no fancy settings. Also in 2009 most gamers were not running 1080p!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page