1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD7870 CF or upgrade?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by N3trox, Apr 5, 2013.

  1. N3trox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    89 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Hi fellas. I'm currently on a rig whichs' specs are:

    -ASUS M5A97
    -AMD Phenom II x4 970 BE
    -Kingston HyperX 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 RAM
    -SAPPHIRE HD 7870 GHz Edition OC
    -Aerocool VS-9 550W (which is an engineering failure i suggest you to stay away from this case at all costs)

    I was wondering about doing CF with another HD 7870. Would you reccomend it? Would my sistem bottleneck? And what kind of PSU should i get fot this, how much power should it give?(600-700W etc.) Or would you suggest me to get an upgrade like GTX 660 Ti. I may switch go Zotac GTX 660 Ti AMP!.
     
  2. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    sell it and get 7970/670, that will give u good jump.

    Don't think the second PCI-E slot on your board works at 16x, so u might cripple the second 7870.
     
  3. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,902 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    978
  4. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Today I just tried out an HD7970 on my rig which I was going to buy.

    Honestly.....
    It's not that much better than my HD7870 that it would warrant an upgrade.

    Real World gaming, my eyes picked up on a little frame increase but nothing to warrant buying the card.

    If you are wanting to upgrade something in your case , the CPU and an SSD would be what I would go for.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  5. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    The hd 7970 is a lot faster then hd 7870 unless you run them in crossfire. There is no comparison. Some games however it wont make a big difference but most will.
    http://gpuboss.com/gpus/Radeon-HD-7970-vs-Radeon-HD-7870
     
  6. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    In a benchtest with bar graphs, it will appear to be no comparison between the two.

    When I sat down and tested games with out the bias of a frame counter nagging at me in the top right hand corner to say 7970 is better, the different between the two was not massive.

    I ran 3 games which have DX11 capabilities at max setting on 1080p.
    I tested the 7970 on Sleeping dogs, Fr Cry 3, Batman Arkham City and Saints Row 3.
    Same settings and everything stock.

    Ran all games with out a frame counter so my opinion would not be biased.
    Far Cry 3 was the most noticable in terms of frame smoothness.
    Sleeping Dogs very little noticed in performance gain.
    Batman Arkham City very little notice in performance gain.
    Saints Row 3 no gain at all.

    Personally a 7970 'may' be warranted if using a 120Hz monitor.

    A 60Hz monitor, a 7870 does a little less in some areas compared to a 7970 according to my eyes with out the use of a frame counter.

    Only reason I would have needed to buy the 7970 would be to place in my system specs for e-peen reasons from what I experienced.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  7. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I wouldn't recommend you CFX with a Phenom II x4. Upgrade your cpu first
     
  8. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,112 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,774
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Is there any oc on the 970 BE?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page