1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD7970 crossfire with 7950 shaders unlocked

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by petedread, Apr 20, 2013.

  1. petedread

    petedread

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    303 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Can I crossfire a HD6950 shaders unlocked with a 6970?
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2013
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Yes. :toast:
     
  3. petedread

    petedread

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    303 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Doh, I wrote HD79** instead of HD69**
    Cheers NDMK2010.
     
  4. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,034 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    a 6950 with unlocked shaders is basically a 6970.
     
  5. Vargtass

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    The mem-chips are different, also running at different speeds (1250 vs 1375).
     
  6. petedread

    petedread

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    303 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Yeah I realise that they are not the same card even after shader unlock there are some fundamental differences, that's why I had to ask. Any way I have just realised that my power supply won't cut the mustard, it's 700W. What sized power supply would I need for these two cards?
     
  7. petedread

    petedread

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    303 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Do I need any special drivers?
     
  8. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    975 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Event without unlocked shader, you could run crossfire..

    [​IMG]


    no special driver. Install the last drive, and the last CAP driver.
     
    petedread says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. samsal New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I already tried this setup with no problem at all
    before flash the card and after flash it
    and no need for special drive
     
    petedread says thanks.
  10. petedread

    petedread

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    303 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Would I be able to get away with just 700w psw for a few weeks until I can get a bigger one?
     
  11. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    983
    700W is PLENTY anyway...
     
  12. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
  13. petedread

    petedread

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    303 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Thanks for the reply's. I'm getting pretty poor results in heaven benchmark compared to when I was running a single 6950. I have lowered my ram and cpu overclocks recently though, but I suspect it mite be something to do with how the second card is installed, it doesn't seem to fit! I have had to take out usb and front panal audio, the power and reset pins are still in the way though, the card doesn't look right. Could this be causing problems?...... Can't wait to get my RMA'd board back and loose this mATX thing.
     
  14. petedread

    petedread

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    303 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Figured it out. It is because the gpu's run X16 and x4. Balls:(
     
  15. petedread

    petedread

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    303 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Would you expect to be able to play Crysis 3 with highest settings with these two cards in crossfire? I can't:(
     
  16. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,034 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    your cards should give you 60FPS most of the time on Ultra 1080p,but it will some times dip to low 30's even.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page