1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD7970 or HD7950?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by ChristTheGreat, Mar 5, 2013.

  1. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    LOL, overclocked it to test fast. 1st run of 3dmark 2011, 1050mhz instead of 960, fine. tested 1100, fine 1 run, tested 1200, 1 run, worked fine.

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6178695

    Going to test more, but this card is a beast. If VDDC is the GPU voltage in GPUZ, in load, it goes to 1.2v, so I could grab more mhz but I think this voltage is okay for now.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,548 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    most will do 1050/1500 on stock and 1200 on around 1.2v.

    grab a version 4.4 of trixx as its the best app for clocking the 7900s.
  3. Kwod New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    548 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Australia
    whoops, meant to say 7950 vapour X with 2x8pins.
    Another awesome card from Saphire{had 6850 before}
  4. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360

    Will do it, as I will try more than CCC limit (1200) xD
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Not mycards ,but OK, yeah, with voltage you'll get more.
  6. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,852
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I got 1000core and 1350 on memory on stock voltages, anything higher and the display adapter would crash.
    I'd rather not push 1.2v through my two GPUs until i get aftermarket cooling (Accelero hybrids on both), 1.15v would just make them heat to 80 degrees, which may be within boundaries, but i dont like anything above 70.
    cadaveca says thanks.
  7. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    mines seems to be stock 1.2v, and furmark for 15-20 mins would bring the card at 81C (fan at 45%).

    not too bad, I just hope this summer I can get a room temp of 21C at my new home , instead I'll run the fan faster.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Furmark temps are unrealizistic for me when gaming, almost 20C higher in furmark after 5 minutes than BF3 after 3 hours. :p

    1.2 V is fine, you got a boost card it seems, as those tend to have 1.2-1.27 V. Cards that ship with 1.0 V or less tend to run pretty damn hot with that much voltage. I think like with past GPUs, AMD added another metal layer to help with that, hence the XT2 moniker for these new GPUs, while the older are just XT. I kinda wonder if they aren't GCN2.0, too. Trying t oCrossfire a boost and a nonboost card gives me wired artifacts that are not present on either card, and are not present when I keep XT chip together and XT2 chips together. Weird stuff, to say the least.
    RCoon says thanks.
  9. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Well, 1200mhz is stable no problem, runned about 3-4hrs of 3dmark 2011 loop. no crash!

    well, it's time to use trixx of after burner to see!

    By the way, does the RBE support HD7k? And is it possible to use the CCC beyond the 1200mhz? I would like to use the CCC only, but if not, I'll use trixx of MSI afterburner to unlock more speed :D
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,883
    Never had an issue with ME in Winnipeg :p

    Anything I've bought from ME has the seals still intact lol... life must be hard out west ;)
    But I agree check ME out... you cant beat there Urber price match and beat.. Ncix blows IMO and will never buy from them again. Direct canada has good prices and you might want to check them out too.
  11. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Well, I do like NCIX (and normally, directcanada is the same has NCIX...) they are sister company.

    And for memory express, it wuld make me save like 5$, but I did price match from directcanada. Plus, a friend of mine orderer from directcanada, and he had not the promo for game.. I have it, on my side from NCIX :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,883
    That's ok and glad you sorted it out. NCIX prices blow. Maybe do a few more comparisons to see the difference. Or you want me too post you a page full of there high prices? You know they need to pay Linus for all his hard work lol ;) :toast:
  13. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    lol!

    For now, all I can say is that MSI HD7950 @ 1200mhz run Crysis 3 really smooth! 1080P, very high, 16x AF, 2x AA... WoW, I made a big jump from my old HD6950.

    Damn I'd like going Crossfire and eyefinity, but budget will stay there for now xD
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. zilla New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I went from an HD7850 to my current HD7970 and it was a huge gain :)
  15. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Well, I am dissapointed that they put a sticker void warranty on one screw :( I was about to change thermal paste..

    Also, just found this:

    [​IMG]

    Look at the Thermal pad, they are half on the memory (and half on VRM).

    This looks like a bad build...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,444 (10.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have heard of some people asking XFX if it is OK to remove the cooler due to these reasons. Show them this picture as well.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    I've sent them an email, with the picture. That would be nice if I can remove it, I would change the thermal paste aswell.. I've got some Zalman STG2 waiting for this xD
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,791 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Is the warranty void sticker just on the screw head or is it one of those big ones attached to the PCB as well? I got around the stickers on my XFX card by using needle-nose pliers and carefully grabbing the screw from the sides. To put the screw back on, use a plain old pencil with an unused eraser, which will allow you to align and initially thread the screw. Once the screw is threaded, use the pliers to tighten it up from the sides (and make sure it is actually tightened all the way, and make sure you don't break off any SMD components while doing any of this). When done right, your warranty stickers should have minimal to no damage.

    P.S.: You didn't hear this from me. ;)
    ChristTheGreat says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    XFX will allow you to change the cooler and paste, just be aware, should you RMA, any physical damage will invalidate your warranty 1000%. As it stands now, they'll let you, and you'll not void your warranty, and if you are really not comfortable doing it, they will do it for you.

    Stickers missing, no note on file about it = no RMA.

    Stickers missing, note on file = careful physical inspection.
  20. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    it's on a screw the sticker. Which is a nice idea from them, but bad for end user :(

    I'll see their answer about this strange thermal pad.

    Thanks for your advices guys :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    so, at 1100mhz, No more crash in Crysis 3.. I guess that 1200 is benchable no problem. So I'll try upping memory to see, if it was crashing because of the GPU.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Upping this topic again :D

    Here's MSI Answer:

    Me

    MSI:


    So I kep these email and remove the void if removed sticker xD
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Pinscher

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    57 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
  24. Pinscher

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    57 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    then why is there a vapor chamber on the bottom of my cooler for my xfx 7950 core?
  25. SPL New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Could you kindly explain what has happened here to my XFX 7950 rev3 last night?

    [​IMG]

    The heatsink on the lower card is intact.
    cadaveca and erocker say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page