1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HDD does not appear in my computer/device manager

Discussion in 'Storage' started by shikamaru2388, Jan 12, 2013.

  1. shikamaru2388 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello!
    As the title says my hdd does not show in neither my computer nor in device manager. the bios detects it thou. the drive will show up after i enter bios and exit again while going with save and reset option (without making any modifications in it), but after i shut down/reset my pc it will not show again unless i do the bios in-and-out thing. I use the hdd in question (HGST Ultrastar 7K3000) as storage drive on rampage iv extreme mb.
    thanks in advance.
  2. pdimar1

    pdimar1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Might want to check the HDD chipset, i had one that burned out and it would spin but no data transfer, usually you could repace the chip and it would work but for me it didnt :banghead:
  3. shikamaru2388 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    the hdd is working when it shows up, but every time i power up/restart i need to go through bios to make sure it does show up
  4. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Try and check the sata cable, replace. Or connect to other sata.
    shikamaru2388 says thanks.
  5. pdimar1

    pdimar1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    The plug on the HDD might be broken if that does not work
  6. pdimar1

    pdimar1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Crap Daddy you like your asrock? i bought the 970 extreme3 and its coming in soon
  7. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    In April it's gonna be 2 years old. Never had a problem.
    Jetster says thanks.
  8. pdimar1

    pdimar1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    nice, this will be the first asrock product so i hope all goes well
  9. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    527 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    are you running AHCI, or IDE mode??
    Also try Right clicking on the "computer" option in your start-up menu, go to "manage", then click on "storage", then "disk manager". Check down on the page to see if it is "online", or has an assigned drive letter(e.g. C:, or D:,etc...), sometimes these issue's can cause a problem in drive detection. Good luck, I hope it works out for you.
  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,685 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Location:
    Oregon
    Does it show up in the Disk Management? New drive? O what he said^
  11. shikamaru2388 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    the cable is ok.
    the drive doesn't show up in disk manager either.
    curently it's in AHCI mode.
    the drive is relatively new, only used it for about 5 days or so.
  12. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    527 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    If it's NOT showing up in the O.S., but being recognized by the bios/UEFI, then it could be that it needs to be set to "online", or that it may be formatted incorrectly.
    First try setting it to "online",then assign a drive letter, then check to see if it's properly formatted.


    I just saw that you wrote,"it doesn't show up in Disk manager"

    In that case, as a far shot, try enabling "show hidden files/drives" in your control panel.
    That MAY make it show up in drive manager.And just to be SURE, make certain that it IS enabled in Device manager, by right clicking it(if it shows up) and selecting enable.

    If NONE of these option's work, I'd recommend that you remove it, then attach it to another PC,,,If the problem persists , then you MAY have a Lemon.
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2013
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,504 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    try changing the bios battery?
  14. shikamaru2388 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    got it right, apparently the sata slot on the mb was at fault as Crap Daddy said, plugged the cable in another slot and it seems to bee working now.
    thanks everyone
    Crap Daddy says thanks.
  15. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,685 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Location:
    Oregon
    Yea, Crap Daddy
  16. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    527 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    R U Serious??!!:slap:

    I'm glad it Worked out for You,,but some advice for the Next time You have an issue W/ your hard-ware , Check out the BASIC things before asking for Help, e.g. plug's, cables, driver's , power switch is ON, etc........I'm happy to help, it's just assumed that this is Par for the course is all.

    I can't speak for everyone, but these are thing's that I assume You would have Done already.

    Best of Luck.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page