1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hdd not detected (new)

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Elmo, Jul 15, 2012.

  1. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    So i have a 1tb wd blue. Its shown in device manager but notihng in my computer. Even displays itself in bios. I have changed the sata cables still the same . help please :s
     
  2. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ah nvm i found in disk management and formatted it. Worked like a charm
     
  3. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,818 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Location:
    South Carolina
    go to disk management and set it up there.
     
    Elmo says thanks.
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,234 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,165
    Location:
    Oregon
    Start / my computer right click/ manage Disk management. You will need to format it there
     
    Elmo says thanks.
  5. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Okay anyway uhm why does this happen? its a new hdd, besides when i buy new hdd i just plug and play havnt had to do this before? Do you guys know why?
     
  6. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    474 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Indonesia
    FYI, this always happened with a brand new HDD.

    The OS will not recognize unpartitioned drive (RAW drive). You need to create at least 1 partition and format it into known partition type (FAT32, NTFS, etc) so the OS able to recognize the drive and you can use your new hard drive.
     
  7. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Before working on a New HDD you must format it or it wont show in my computer.
    Well looks like your prob is solved
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page