1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

hdd post/biis detected but not in win

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Gregsm, Sep 23, 2009.

  1. Gregsm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    hdd post/bios detected but not in win

    I have 2x 250GB barracuda 7200.10 (st3250410as), lately both started to make problems. Both detected at post with no errors. First working fine in windows but when i tried to install os on it, it not listed. Now few weeks since the other also stopped working . Just windows froze and it wouldnt boot after restart. I loaded xp from cd and it doesnt appear there either, in my computer, unlike the first one. Its also being detected in vista install setup, unallocated (even though i didnt delete partition) and clicking next doing nothing. The cursor just show 'wait' forever. What this behavior could mean?
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2009
  2. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,002 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Did you try going into your disk manager? Try making it a simple volume, Then formatting it. See if that helps
     
  3. Gregsm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I have 2 same hdds, ok...
    1. Detected in windows. I can store files etc, but cant install OS because its not shows.

    2. Not detected in windows at all. Particularly xp that loaded from cd (without install). The 1st hdd does show. Its also sometimes appear if I try to install vista on it, but install dont start. So I cant do any operations on it through windows.

    And both HDDs detected at post: 'ultra dma mode 5 smart capable and status ok'.
    I also noticed that whe hdd 2 connected, the check takes several sec, compared to 1 sec without it. Wasnt like that before. I had them for about year working fine since purchase.
     
  4. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,002 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    I dont think it is your actual HD that is the culprit. I think you have some setting you may need to look at.

    Try going into bios and it will say below "Boot order" Something like hard drive boot and pick the barracuda 7002.10
     
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,879 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,628
    check in disk manager if you have partitions and a file system on that drive
     
  6. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Should show up there:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Gregsm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    nah, I connected 1 hdd at a time. Before or after dvdrw... doesnt matter.
     
  8. Gregsm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    With hdd #1 all fine. It shows in windows but not in new os setup.
    But hdd #2 not shown in windows and the disk management service doesnt start when this hdd connected. With others it works.
    In os setup though, as i said, it is shown, wirh full unallocated space, and as soon as i perform any actions on it, ie start install or create new partition, its loading forever.. Like the service of disk management
     
  9. Gregsm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    With hdd #1 all fine. It shows in windows but not in new os setup.
    But hdd #2 not shown in windows and the disk management service doesnt start when this hdd connected. With others it works.
    In os setup though, as i said, it is shown, wirh full unallocated space, and as soon as i perform any actions on it, ie start install or create new partition, its loading forever.. Like the service of disk management
     
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,879 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,628
    could the drive be defective? tried it on another pc ? check if seagate has some dos based diagnostic tool
     
  11. Gregsm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I dont have an option to test on other pc any soon. Anyway shortly there's no known reason for this? I guess gonna need new hdd tomorow at least to install OS.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page