1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

hdd reads lower and what it shoud be why?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Rol87, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. Rol87

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    337 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    iowa
    I just got a new (has been owned before) hard drive and its supposed to be a 500gb and it only reads it as a 465gb along with my old one it said that it was a 250gb and it would only be read as a 235gb why is that?
     
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    because there is a difference in how manufacturers report hard rive capacity and how the os sees it
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    most of it is for the OS
     
  4. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    the formatting and fat table stuff occupy space.. it comes off the total..

    trog
     
  5. Rol87

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    337 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    iowa
    I dont think that my os takes 20+ of gb
     
  6. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Well divide by 1024 for MB and you get 488.28 and 244.14. Still leaves aprox. 9Gb unaccounted for. Looks like it's time for a low-level format.
     
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,991 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ohio
    The manufacturer counts one megabyte as 1000 killabytes, the OS counts one megabyte as 1024kb.

    My 250gb is seen as 232gb.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 5 Million points folded for TPU
  8. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    727 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Here is how it goes:
    500GB to the marketers = 500,000,000,000 bytes

    divide this by 1024 for KB
    divide again by 1024 for MB
    divide once more by 1024 for GB

    so: 500,000,000,000/(1024*1024*1024) = 465GB

    so 500GB according to the sales guys = 465GB (base two)
     
    ShadowFold and [I.R.A]_FBi say thanks.
  9. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    In fact , Seagate (?) were sued recently for misrepresenting their hard drives this way . It`s not that big a discrepancy, You DO get five hundred gigabytes (base 10)
     
  10. Rol87

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    337 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    iowa
    o ok i see i was about to freak out i was like there is no way that the os takes that much of gb:slap: another thing since i now have to hdd can i use Norton Partition Magic to make a copy of the old hdd for the new one?
     
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,991 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ohio
    The os dpesn't make your hard drive appear smaller than it should, it takes up space just like anything else does, and is accounted for in the "used space" area of the hard drive pie graph.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 5 Million points folded for TPU
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,220 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,797
    Location:
    US
    +1. Shame Manufacturers don't actually give you 500GB after format ...
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2008
  13. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    The issue is, as Beertintedgoggles mostly explained, the difference between 1000 and 1024. HD manufacturers clearly state that 1 GB = 1.000.000.000 bytes. This is correct.

    Kilo means 1000, mega means million, these are official SI units. However many years ago these same units were used in computers, a kilo became 1024 here. This is wrong, 1024 is a KiloBinary, ie a KiBi or (2^10). 1024KiBi would be MeBi, megabinary (2^20). Giga would be Gibi (2^30) and so on.

    Few programs actually use these right SI units, torrent clients for example mostly do, they list KiB instead of KB and GiB instead of GB. Windows however reads the right units but names them wrong. This is not a reason to bash Windows, as nearly all OSes and other programs do this.

    It's just a nice confusing thing in the industry. It won't change anytime soon.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page