1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HDDBoost - Combine an SSD and HDD into one!

Discussion in 'Storage' started by newtekie1, Jul 10, 2010.

  1. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    SilverStone HDDBOOST HDD Accessory

    Seems like a pretty neat idea, anyone tried one? It seems to use the SSD as a giant cache for the HDD.

    Edit: A review: http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardware-canucks-reviews/29176-silverstone-hddboost-review.html

    Seems like an decent idea, but not a well implemented one. It only mirrors the first chunk of the drive, so you have to make sure the data on the beginning of the disc is the most accessed data you use. You might as well just use the SSD by itself...

    Oh well, never mind.
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,458
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    Yeah, I saw those, I actually came across the HDDBoost looking at reviews for the Momentus XT.:D
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,458
    my next storage upgrade will be one of those momentus drives for OS, and my 2x500 setup in RAID 0 for mah games
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    I would be nice to see a bigger desktop drive with a slightly larger SSD portion(like maybe 16GB).
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,458
    agreed.
  7. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    This stuff is very cool indeed. too bad it came out after SSD's, otherwise i woulda probably went with the Momentus drive instead.
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,656
    Location:
    US
    Can you defrag them ?. As your not supposed to defrag SSD's so how would ya go about doing that so you get what ya need at the start of the drive ?.

    That XT would not touch it 4GB LMAO, Way to small even for my laptop.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,458
    the 4GB is automatically used... you obviously didnt look past the specs.
  10. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    The drive automatically assigns the most often used 4GB's of data onto its SSD portion, and assigns the rest to the HDD portion. Now if it has integrated defragmenting like some of the high-end programs out there (it may or may not) then that would be awesome :)
  11. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Yeah, I picked one up some time ago to test. There were some gains to be had in Vantage and PCM05. It did pep up the Win7 64 Pro install somewhat. Worthwhile investment I guess if you already have a smaller ssd on hand.

    Not sure if you can access this thread or not... http://www.overclockaholics.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2223
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,656
    Location:
    US
    Well it was a while ago when i last read about it lol. But still 4GB is way to less and to charge so much is a ripp off imo.

    And still you will need to defrag it so i hope all that 4GB is either blocked of from defragers or it's going move that data to in some cases.

    16GB be better but that be good only for my laptop lol. As for my main PC it have to much bigger but i guess this will happen when SSD prices come down more.
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,458
    its automatically filled with the most often accessed files. for an OS drive, thats perfect.
  14. ISSA2000

    ISSA2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    iv order 1.

    will test, with a 60g ssd mus callisto deluxe

    (sams 2tb hdd)? vr300?
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,656
    Location:
    US
    My most accessed files are over 4GB WAY OVER.
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    Probably, but most of what is going to be loaded will be Windows files and program files. Your data files that most people think are the most accessed files, are way at the bottom of the list actually. Windows and your common program files are at the top.
    Mussels says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. ISSA2000

    ISSA2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Ssd silverstone booster tests

    Testing in:

    xp pro sp3
    sam green drive 2tb(prim)
    q9650 3g intel 775 (asus ramage formula) (1001 bios mod intel raid)(x48 chipset)
    wd vr300 wd3000glfs + mushkin callisto 60g ssd deluxe
    silverstone ssd hdd booster (pcb v1.2) beta bios 100712
    8g ram(2.8 detected)

    Booster+ssd+vr300 on intel controller(raid on- detected as non raid)
    (latest xp intel drivers)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    will do non booster test... ssd on intel+ vr300 as well..


    ssd (prim part (*empty) not aligned..(standard ntfs format))
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    vr 300

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    ---------


    To test with 2tb hdd? 1tb hdd? sata 3 controller? (asus usb3.0+ sata 3 combo) how about ssd+ ssd(test mac bandwith? 280mb/sec div by 2)



    Testing (60g ssd 240mb/sec hdtach 3.xx max)+ 2tb wd adf hdd (data on it) curr syn data+ will do res sat


    seams limited to total bandwith of 280mb/sec (that includes (mirror) hdd faster area+ ssd speed output...

    vr300 60g zone 280mb/sec - 130mb/sec*(vr 300hdd) = 150mb/sec for ssd (ssd can do 240mb/sec)

    a slowed generation hdd.

    wd 750g re2, avg 75mb/sec (zone* that mirrored to ssd) 86mb/sec, leaving bandwith for ssd as: 194mb/sec (280-86=194)

    or a 4+ year old hdd(or notebook hdd) avg 55 mb/sec 65mb/sec zone*, leaving you 215mb/sec..(280-65=215)


    still testing, will try a 120g hdd notebook? + 2tb hdd + ssd(test max bandwith??)

    any ideas? wonder if ill test it on a asus combo card sata 6 + usb3.0
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2010
  18. ISSA2000

    ISSA2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    its a advance cache, but it uses 10000%, so they use high quality chips(long life)?

    but hdd is doomed for short death..

    (love the pic, shows many ssd chips, but its 1 chip on the underside of the pcb)

    (*** they use the cache ram to buffer the ssd? and the ssd as cache ram)



    must have built in ecc (to check ssd) and if it finds a bad spot, marks its bad, but does not tell you, (ssd cache ges smaller) effects performance etc..

    and mistakes in the ssd cache, would currupt data fast..

    wonder if the booster + hybrid hdd works? , still limited to 280mb/sec. total mirrored output???



    Wonder if that hybrid would work in raid 0?> raid 1


    wd 2tb green adf hdd + ssd + booster

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page