1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

hdmi 1.4 issue for the 7970 Lightning

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by isajlovic, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. isajlovic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bobigny, France
    Hi, I apologize in advance for my bad Englis
    I have a dilemma because of the lack of an HDMI port on my hd 7970 Lightning
    I know it comes with the adapter to a DVI signal to HDMI convert, but the signal is given supports HDMI 1.4 standard???
    Because I need it to connect to a monitor or to be able to use the full potential of the monitor
     
  2. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,486 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Hello there.

    Have a read of W1zzards review:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/MSI/HD_7970_Lightning/3.html

    The card is HDMI 4.1a compatible.

    I know he didn't like the card because of it's lack of dual link DVI. But I don't think he mentioned HDMI being an issue.
     
  3. isajlovic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bobigny, France
    I know

    I know that the video card Compatible with the 1.4 standard, but how do I connect the HDMI cable with it??? using an adapter for DVI or Mini DisplayPort over
     
  4. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,496 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    i think u should try a DVI to HDMI adapter so see if u also get audio out there.

    borrow one if u can, instead of buying one to test with ^^
     
  5. isajlovic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bobigny, France
    merci beaucoup

    :)
     
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,056 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,955
    you can use a dvi to hdmi adapter (cheapest)
    or a passive displayport to hdmi adapter (a bit more expensive)
    or an active displayport to hdmi adapter (most expensive).

    obviously try with the cheapest first
     
  7. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    You won't get audio if you go DVI to HDMI, which can be done via a DVI to HDMI cable, or a DVI to HDMI adapter with HDMI cable. Which is cheaper depends on whether you already have the HDMI cable. One tradeoff in DVI to HDMI adapters/cables is they typically do not support dual link DVI. This means you'd be limited to 1080p.

    On DP (DisplayPort) to HDMI scenarios, the cable or adapter used has to support audio for it to be carried, but unlike DVI, DP DOES support audio.
     
  8. patrico

    patrico

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    336 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    ireland, galway
    hey, yeah ive always used dvi to hdmi and the sound is fine,
    speaking only for amd cards that see, dont know about nvidia :)
     
  9. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The DVI to HDMI converter that comes with graphics cards do carry Audio signal.
    That is because the Graphics card uses a non-standard pin-out when the connector is used.
     
  10. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Yes I know, but they're hit and miss as to which devices can use them and DVI ports are not typically enabled with such a feature.

    Most that want HD audio and video just use HDMI, as all the modern GPUs now have it.
     
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,056 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,955
    the last time hdmi audio via dvi didn't work for me was with hd 2400 series.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  12. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    All I'm saying is DVI wasn't originally designed with the intent to carry HD audio. Even now most GPUs don't even come with the adapter mentioned to make them work with it. About the only thing DVI has over HDMI is secure screw-down connectors and 2560 capability in dual link.

    DVI is very outdated when it comes to space though, and recent GPUs are paying for it in scaled down exhaust vents. DisplayPort is the best of them all really. It's high bandwidth, high res, easy snap on/off secure connection, and nice and small.

    If display tech were moving along at a better pace vs this LCD and plasma stuff, we'd probably see DisplayPort taking a stronger foothold in the PC and TV markets. Then there's the fact that 80% of gaming is on consoles with many if not most of them being connected to TVs, few of which even have DVI ports anymore.

    We need to move past LCD, Plasma and DVI and go OLED and DP, or better yet PLED and DP. With the mobile market driving computer designs more and more, I doubt DVI will be around much longer.
     
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,900 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,481
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    My old 2600 XT was the last time this happened for me.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page