1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HDMI to DVI cable

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by blackbird307, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. blackbird307 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    106 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Since they are both basically the same thing just HDMI has 1 audio, would the quality be the same in visual?
  2. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    in theory they shouldent?

    in Theory they should since they are both a digital signal.
    blackbird307 says thanks.
  3. blackbird307 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    106 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    oops lol, sorry. Thank you.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    HDMI and DVI are 100% the same with video. When they desigend HDMI, they used DVI as a base design - think of HDMI as DVI, but they removed the VGA compatibility and replaced that with the audio signal.

    If you want audio, there can be extra steps (for example, Nvidia need an SPDIF cable between your video card and your sound card, while ATI require a special DVI to HDMI adaptor, and a normal HDMI cable - you cant use a DVI to HDMI cable)
    TheLaughingMan and blackbird307 say thanks.
  5. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I knew all that, but I always wondered how ATI got the audio signal through. Thanks for the knowledge

    Cause knowledge is power.
  6. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    ATI cards have an HD audio chip built into the graphics card.:)
    The DVI to HDMI adapter is just to change the shape of the interface (socket) from DVI to HDMI since only DVI cables carry audio.
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yep. HDMI is DVI + Audio. I have an HDTV that has HDMI on the back, so I looked for a cable with HDMI on one end and DVI on the other and found one on ebay (mine was quite cheap... like $6 shipped). It does noticibly look better than VGA, but it depends on the app. I saw a noticible increace in quality in Doom 3.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    DVI (and HDMI) is digital and VGA is analog. VGA suffers from interference when sending a signal to LCD monitors/TVs that causes moire issues, ie, colours at certain frequencies look "lumpy" on LCD monitors instead of even when going through VGA cables (for me at least when doing monitor tests with Everest).
    As well as VGA having limited bandwidth, if I'm not mistaken.
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,745 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
    vga doesnt really have bandwidth because it is an analog signal. dvi/hdmi/anything else digital has a limited bandwidth.
  10. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Cool

    I thought the Nvidia cards had an audio processing chip on the cards as well and the SPDIF cable only transferred the input to the card. I didn't realize the audio had to be processed by your audio system, then transferred to the Nvidia card to be trasmitted over the HDMI cable.

    P.S. You can still use a DVI to HDMI cable with an ATI or Nvidia card, but you will need the audio to be connected in another way.
  11. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,584 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    I use DVI cable for my monitor
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,803 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,920
    I didn't think ATi cards required special converters. I thought all the HDMI to DVI converters dealt with the sound in the same way, since nVidia also transmits sound through the DVI connector. In fact I think I'm using an ATi converter with my GTX285 right now...

    Not sure about the DVI to HDMI cables, I'll have to check that when I get home...
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  13. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    The only difference is that ATI Cards have onboard HD audio processors, but nVidia needs you to use one on your mobo or audio card. The nVidia card only connects the audio from you sound card to the HDMI cable and adds the video to it.
    No, it's not a DVI "converter", it doesn't convert anything. It just changes what sort of cable you can plug into the port. The DVI port will be getting supplied with audio already, but the DVI port on the monitor/TV doesn't look for an audio wave because the standard is not designed to (correct me if I'm wrong).

    To recap, ATI cards have audio processors, so they just send audio to the DVI port, and nVidia cards don't, so they route the audio from the mobo/sound card to their DVI port. The HDMI adapter is just like changing the head of a screw from flat so star, so that you can use a star screwdriver, similarly it changes, the shape of the port from DVI to HDMI so that you can use a HDMI cable instead. The HDMI port on the monitor/TV will look for audio, that's why you want to use the HDMI cable if you want audio (correct me if I'm wrong).

    That make sense? Here are the plugs:

    DVI PORT (on graphic card)[​IMG]

    DVI Cable pins[​IMG]

    HDMI Adapter pins[​IMG]

    As you can see, the DVI cable is single link, which is in pins 1, 2, 9, 10, 17 & 18.
    The DVI-HDMI adapter supports a dual link, the pins above for link 1, and the pins 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 & 21; carry link 2.
    If I'm not mistaken, it's the 2nd link pins that carry the audio wave, thus you can see that DVI physically doesn't support audio (again, I might be wrong in the audio on link 2 thing).

    I hope this helps (just ask if you don't understand, and please correct me if I understand something wront).;)
    Sorry if this is a topic infringement.
    :toast:
  14. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Yeah, I merely stated I didn't know that until reading the above post.
  15. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Ha ha, sorry I understood you wrong.:eek:
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    it used to work with any adaptor, when they only did 5.1. Since they moved to 7.1 (midrange 3xx0 and up, entire four series) it has required a special adaptor from ATI.

    ATI went out of spec including a soundcard in the video cards, so the adaptor has to be from them to get the audio through.
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page