1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HDMI vs DVI

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Nick89, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Currently I have my monitor connected via the DVI cable that came with it. My monitor has an HDMI connector and my video card supports HDMI. So I was wondering if I should get an HDMI cable.

    Whats the differance between HDMI and DVI / what are the benefits? And whats a good price for an HDMI cable?
     
  2. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    No difference whats so ever between DVI and HDMI in quality...

    HDMI transfers sound through it, DVI only sends the video signal
     
    Nick89 says thanks.
  3. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    they're both the same except HDMI has audio pass through
     
    Nick89 says thanks.
  4. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    yea theres not really any difference . and if u were to go 4 1 any generic 1 will do £10-£15 anything more expensive is a very big wast of money
     
    Nick89 says thanks.
  5. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Thanks guys.
     
  6. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Also hdmi loses quality over long distances.
     
  7. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Yea, HDMI has an audio pass-through. If you're wanting to buy one for kicks though, I'd go to www.monoprice.com since they have great deals on cables and decent shipping prices. HDMI cables start at 2 and a half bucks last time I checked.
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,263 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,298
    Only as much as DVI does, they are both litterally the same signal. And as both are digital, it would take a very very long distance to see any signal quality loss.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,125 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,939
    Location:
    IA, USA
    This article compares DVI, HDMI, UDI, and DisplayPort:
    http://www.tgdaily.com/content/view/33161/118/1/1/

    As already stated, there's two main differences between HDMI and DVI:
    -HDMI carries an digital audio signal while DVI does not.
    -DVI has backwards compatibility for VGA while HDMI has backwards comptibility with DVI.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I wouldn't necessarily call it backwards compatibility on the second part. HDMI is generally more expensive in all purposes due to royalties that have to be paid. I would rather use SPDIF than run audio through HDMI, from what I hear quality is poor and interference can be a problem.
     
  11. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    I run a HD cable from my Video card to my monitor..I like it but really as everyone else stated there is no difference..but my monitor is HDMI as well.
     
  12. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I use HDMI on my monitor but I don't run sound through it. I prefer my S/PDIF cable. The cheaper the cable is the better, no point buying an expensive cable because the quality of the signal can't be better or worse. Its either right or wrong which is unusual.
     
  13. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    lol I already think he got the idea from the first few posts and he thanked us...
     
  14. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    :laugh: Just to make sure though:p
     
  15. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Eh, a lot shorter than you might think... Granted a pretty long run for a monitor, but try out a 15ft cable sometime carrying a 1080p or above signal.... Granted their are "some" higher end cables that can do it but lots start to fail, get that up to 20-30ft and say goodbye to 90% of cables.
     
  16. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    20-30 ft cable :confused: why ? I can imagine for some business uses why at home. At that distance you might want a pair of binoculars.
     
  17. MightyG80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    73 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Or if you have a really large house... :laugh:
     
  18. kyle2020 Guest

    3870x2, is that a freaking SHAMWOW?!?!?! :eek:

    bloody off topic, but I about lost my breath when I saw his avatar haha.

    Dont waste your money on a HDMI cable, stick with good 'ol DVI.
     
  19. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Lots of reasons, how about a remote controller computer with media center running video from the video card?

    How about remote digital video players?

    There are better ways to do this *Ethernet 100mbps*, but lots of people still do try to do it the cheap way.. I had a guy talk to me the other day about a 100ft HDMI cable so he could watch movies in his bedroom from his dvd player in the living room... I mean seriously man, go spend $40 at target and buy a dvd player jesus.

    ****
    On the note of the cables, I don't think ATI video cards will do their uber nice upscaling from a DVI cable... I maybe wrong, have not tried it.
     
  20. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    100 ft is about half the length of my street :laugh: A setup that expensive wouldn't be worth it. I just move my equiptment around wherever its needed.
     
  21. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Fair enough, I laugh about it myself, the cable is so expensive, and yes you can use repeaters but god...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page