1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hdmi

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by smiggy74, Feb 8, 2013.

  1. smiggy74 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have recently upgraded my grahics card to a nvidia geforce 210. I get sound on my tv using a HDMI lead but when I use the vga for my monitor I cant get any sound. Can I get sound using a HDMI to DVI cable.
    Some people say you can others say you can't. Please help I'm confused
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,838 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,943
    DVI and VGA both don't carry any sound signal. So the only way to get sound is to use HDMI on both the card and the monitor.
    smiggy74 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. smiggy74 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cheers
  4. smiggy74 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can I use a sound card with my graphics card?? Or will the graphics card overpower it like it has to my computers built in sound???
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,838 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,943
    You should be able to use your onboard sound with your graphics card without a problem. However, Windows can only output to one device at a time, so you have to go into your playback devices and select the onboard sound card as your default output device.
    smiggy74 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. terrastrife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Ahem what?
    DVI can handle video, audio, data, AND power at once.
    Nvidia cards can transfer audio over all their digital ports at the same time, ie you can have both dvi and hdmi with audio output going at the same time. I've been using audio over dvi since the gtx280 (with the passthrough cable because they didn't have onboard audio then)

    But as you mentioned for the OP, they must change their playback device to the onboard audio.
    May have to make sure the BIOS is set to enabled, because if it's on auto it usually disables when the gpu audio is detected at boot.
    smiggy74 says thanks.
  7. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,865 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    Location:
    Oregon
    You ahve to change the sound setting in the properties

    Nvidia 210 was an upgrade?
  8. smiggy74 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Since Ive fitted my graphics card it says I have no audio devices in my sound settings. Yet before this it was fine.
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,838 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,943
    You are correct on DVI handling audio, though not official, audio can be sent via DVI. AMD and nVidia have both been doing this since at least the G92 cards(that is when I started using it, and I'm still using DVI->HDMI with sound on my GTX670). I misspoke. What I meant was that the DVI/VGA port on the monitor can't accept audio input, at least I've never seen a monitor that accepted audio over DVI. Of course that makes sense since audio over DVI is not a officially supported, so monitors don't support it, even TVs with DVI don't support it. You have to use a DVI to HDMI adapter and plug into the monitor/TV with HDMI.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,442 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    504
    This has come up before, and I argued the validity of DVI audio. I found out you have to have a special adapter that enables audio over DVI (such as ATI and HIS have made), because the default DVI connections don't in fact carry audio. The adapter enables the center pins which aren't enabled on DVI, so saying DVI carries audio is not really true. The original format and even DVI ports and cables still made today don't by themselves carry audio.
    Jetster says thanks.
  11. n3rdf1ght3r

    n3rdf1ght3r

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    346 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    260
    Location:
    The city with the druggie Mayor
    Yep, DVI wasn't designed to carry audio. Even if you had the adapter, the monitor would't able to take the audio signals from the DVI input. TV's don't have a DVI port so you're going to end up using a DVI - HDMI adapter. It's a better choice to run audio through HDMI as it's cheaper and less work
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,188 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,029
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    At work we have a projector that has an extra long DVI port. Come to find out it has extra pins for USB. I'm sure there are plenty of weird and obscure things that aren't supported by anything but exist nonetheless.
  13. terrastrife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    I've been using a $3 DVI-HDMI cable for years. Nothing special, the DVI end has all the pins filled minus analogue.
    Also works with every branded and generic DVI-HDMI adapter I have too.

    I'm aware that back in the X1900/GF7 days quite possibly it was different.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page