1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HDTV vs Monitor for PC gaming ?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by jonathan1107, Mar 15, 2011.

1. jonathan1107

jonathan1107

Thanks Received:
    I currently have a 24 inch full hd monitor and a full hd 32 inch HDTV...

I was wondering if I should try connecting my PC to the HDTV instead of my current monitor. I have a radeon 6950 which would allow a HDMI to HDMI connection to the HDTV...

What would be the PROS and CONS of doing this. I've heard you can get deeper blacks on HDTV and a more dynamic color range...

I also hear a PC monitor is better "pixel wise"... I'm not really an expert on the subject. What do you guys think? Let me know :O)

2. AsRock

AsRock TPU addict

Thanks Received:
    Pros
    Every thing bigger
    makes things easier to see
    Great for Track IR
    HDMI carrys sound so you could plug it in your receiver first

Cons
    Can make things more blocky
    MIGHT need more AA ( depends on a few factors like resolution )
    Screen refresh is typically higher.
    I sit pretty dam close to mine but love the larger screen over a smaller one so to me the pros defiantly out do the cons.
    More space taken up

Try it only real way if ya going tell if ya like it or not.

3. xvi

xvi

Thanks Received:
    The TV might have a bit of lag. Be sure to set it to "game mode" if it has one. The TV might also ghost more than the monitor. Be sure to set the HDMI audio as your default sound device (Radeons have a built-in sound card).

..but as AsRock said, if you have both of 'em handy, try them out. A friend of mine used his HDTV on his computer. Had the stupid thing a few feet away from his face. Had to turn his head to follow the mouse around. He enjoyed it quite a bit, but ended up selling it to pay the bills.

Crunching for Team TPU
  4. LAN_deRf_HA

LAN_deRf_HA

Thanks Received: