1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Headless ubuntu 10.04 media streaming server

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Killer_Rubber_Ducky, Aug 2, 2011.

1. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

Killer_Rubber_Ducky

Thanks Received:
    Hi, I recently set up a ubuntu 10.04 server and need instructions on how to set up Samba for the first time so I can access files from any of my computers on my LAN (windows, Mac, Linux) or remotely( like at my folks place) and also setup a media streaming service for my music and movies on my drives(including external). I am new to servers ( as I have not touched a server since the army in 2006) and I need help. I also would like to know how i can set up my own email server with it as well. My internal storage consists of 1 1TB Drive with an LVM of 80GB for the Server OS and ~800GB for the Media as well as a 1.5TB external Drive.
    I am running this as a headless server too. So far I have VNC, Gnome-Core, Webmin, OpenSSH and Samba. As far as the Media Streaming goes, it would be nice to have it transcode the file should it be needed like to a PS3 as a uPnP. Any help would be appreciated.

2. Chevalr1c

Chevalr1c

Thanks Received:
    I now VLC player does have streaming functionality but I don't know if it can transcode during the streaming. The command line version of vlc is called cvlc, by the way (though I don't now exactly what packages are needed to be picked up via APT to get all the functionality you need).
    Note: I am not knowledgeable in this particular field so I can not assist you further. I could only give you some thoughts of mine.

Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Ev1LrYu

Ev1LrYu

Thanks Received:
  4. Hybrid_theory

Hybrid_theory

Thanks Received:
    I once setup exim4 mail server on an Ubuntu vm. It was straight forward for the most part.