• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Headphone wire Repair [help]

System Name Sandfiller
Processor I5-10400
Motherboard MSI MPG Z490 GAMING PLUS
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i (92x25mm fan)
Memory 32GB Corsair LPX 2400 Mhz DDR4 CL14
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700 XT GAMING X
Storage Intel 670P 512GB
Display(s) 2560x1080 LG 29" + 22" LG
Case SS RV02
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Fractal Design IntegraM 650W
Mouse Logitech Triathlon
Keyboard REDRAGON MITRA
Software Windows 11 Home x 64
Hi all,

yesterday my headphone wire broke up.
Model: Creative HS-450. As you can see there is this Volume control+ Mic On/Off "station". That's where the cable broke off. I cut the thing out from both sides. Now I want to join it together without that "module". I am no electrician. I have very little knowledge of electricity in general.

HS450_c.jpg

What I did was, burn the edge of the wires. And then pigtail splice the matching colors. What happens is the left sound channel (the bright green wire) and the right sound channel (the dark green wire), when pigtail-ed I get no sound, BUT when I press them with my thumbnails I hear crystal clear my headphones. So, there is hope. Do I need to solder the cables? Or may be I haven't burned enough of the cable sleeve? It's not pritty, I know.

IMG_0171.JPG IMG_0172.JPG IMG_0173.JPG

How do you do an "in-line cable splice"? Like here: Is it necessary?

629px-Repair-Dodgy-or-Broken-Headphones-Step-4Bullet2.jpg

I know I have to buy heatshrink and I don't own a soldering thingy, but I am thinking of buying a "solder pen". I whink it will do the trick. Anyone have some practical advice? Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
System Name Senile
Processor I7-4790K@4.8 GHz 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z97-G45 Gaming
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64