1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

headphones + amp for $400

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by Easy Rhino, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,055 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    896

    This

    edit: did not read the last pages. Im sure i failed and you decided already.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    my point about the iphone was, if people spend $650 on one, why not spend $800 on a pmp. i wouldn't mind hearing your comparison on the dx100 vs your $150 setup :toast:
  3. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,390 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,223
    I actually have a set of those with the mixamp and a case. Great for gaming but too bulky to carry around.

    i have not decided yet and probably won't until next month. it seems i have a good amount of option for $400. I would love to justify spending the cash on something like an iBasso but i just cannot at this point. i think im going to start with a decent set of IEMs and a mid range amp. i will need to start ripping my CD collection to FLAC. (yes i do own CDs. I have hundreds and hundreds of them!)
  4. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I have hundreds of CDs too! Welcome to the new milenium! :p
  5. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,390 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,223
    you misspelled millennium.

    speaking of CDs, do retailers like AMAZON and ITUNES sell FLAC audio files?
  6. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    So did you :eek: I'm posting from my fone, be glad I even made it that far lol

    Pretty sure they both do. I don't waste $$$ on that stuff :eek:
  7. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,390 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,223
    apparently you spell millennium differently in canada?
  8. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Really? You want to troll me on spelling? :laugh:

    What is this place coming to :confused:

    Thanks for another post! :rolleyes:

    I was supposed to be out of this thread 3 posts ago! :nutkick:

    Bye! Bye! :pimp:
  9. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,390 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,223
    huh? not trolling. you said i spelled the word wrong and then i corrected you. it doesn't matter either way. but judging by your other posts in this thread it is you that is trolling.

    anyway, back on topic!
  10. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    I think he's trying to see how blatantly he can troll before people start to pick up on it... at first it was kind of subtle but the last few posts, you can tell he's upped his game :roll:
    Easy Rhino and BumbleBee say thanks.
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,523 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,921
    Well, your grammar sucks.

    Get back on topic everyone.

    Thanks. :toast:
    m1dg3t says thanks.
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,158 (5.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
  13. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,390 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,223
    ok, what about mp3 rippers? apparently the droid phone I have only supports mp3,wma,eacc+, and wav. should I rip to a high bit rate mp3 or just copy the wav files over?
  14. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,164 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    The highest quality MP3 is probably enough only minor artifacts from the compression. You can rip/convert to WMA lossless if you have FLAC/ALAC/WAV source.
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,158 (5.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    You will be extremely hard pressed to differentiate between a high bitrate MP3 and a lossless, so I wouldn't be bothered and just enjoy the music. Of course if you can hear the difference its time to get a lossless music player.
  16. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,390 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,223
    yes, but what software do I need to do that?
  17. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    All digital is lossy. Period. Sound is NOT digital, it is analogue. Hence your ADC/DAC. Lol

    Windows media player & your favorite muzic app that supports your files is all you need. It is that easy! :)
  18. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,164 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    You can use EAC, dbpoweramp or windows media player for WMA rips from CD.
  19. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,390 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,223
    Good to know. I doubt on a pair of $150 IEMs I will be able to hear the difference. The music needs to be clear and crisp and I think a high bit rate mp3 and a descent portable amp will provide for that.

    ah yes, eac. i will go with that. what blows is that i have hundreds of CDs ripped using itunes lossless audio codec on my wife's desktop. it is great for partys and also great because i can play music from anywhere in the house to other systems in the house. very neat tech that is easy to use. my phone though doesn't play M4A so now i have to rip a bunch of cds all over again :banghead:
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2012
  20. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,164 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    You can just recode them to WMA lossless (or any other format) via dbpoweramp or other program. ALAC is open source now so I expect that there are other programs that can do it as well.
  21. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,741 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,600
    I don't know about eac, but db is nice because it uses all your cores at once.
  22. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Foobar2k will rip/convert to FLAC if you have FLAC installed. Pretty painless..
  23. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,164 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    Foobar can also convert if you have the correct things installed.
  24. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,390 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,223
    yea id rather not waste my time. the built in tools by dbpoweramp should be enough.
  25. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Has anyone tried tube amplifiers?

    What can I expect when using a tube amplifier?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page