1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Heating Issue

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by wildbeast99t, Sep 17, 2012.

  1. wildbeast99t New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Recently I have bought a brand new phenom II BE for an easy upgrade. I just overclocked to a 3.5, (3.4 stock) but it heats like crazy! When playing gta I get 60 degrees just 2 min in! I have to admit my small case has little airflow but....
    on another note: css and desus ex play fine but gta and l4d2 overheat my cpu.
     
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,438 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Might help if you would post your specs in the "User CP" in the menu on this forum page.
    Don't forget to click the "show specs" box, too.

    What cooler?
    What case?

    New build or old?
    What were the temps on your old CPU ?
    Have you replaced the T.I.M. lately? Hope you did... if, you replaced the CPU. How much T.I.M. ?
    Checked that the cooler is mounted correctly?
    Cleared all the dust out?
    Checked that the fans are working?
    What are your temps when the CPU is loaded, with no OC?
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2012
  3. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,879 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,240
    Location:
    Rochester area
    cpu is rated for 100c those temps are fine blah blah blah search before posting
     
  4. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,113 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    782
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    What does it get under continuous max load?

    No.. amd recommends max temp in the mid 60's
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,095 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,755
    Location:
    US
    I actually thought it was 62c..

    Anyways GTA is cpu intensive which is probably why there is extra heat from it. Maybe you should try what you all ready know whats wrong and get better cooling and air flow.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  6. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    If you bought an OEM chip and kept the old cooler, did you apply new thermal paste? Or if you bought an aftermarket cooler, are you sure you installed it properly?

    And consider adding an intake fan somewhere, or maybe a better exhaust fan.

    Guess you're not nice, polite, or helpful. ;)
     
    MT Alex and 95Viper say thanks.
  7. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,072 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    personally i would touch the heatsink just to make it sure that the temp is right
    but i guess if about 60 degree its high but not too high, you can improve by improving your airflow, better thermal paste
     
  8. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Overclocking sometimes increases the voltage a lot than what is actually needed.
    In my experience, you can overclock your Phenom II chip +400-500 MHz easily without over voltage(I did it reducing voltage :p ).
    So I suggest you watch the temps before overclocking and set the voltage manually to stock while overclocking.
     
  9. MasterInvader

    MasterInvader

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    275 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Portugal
    Agree

    With a proper MB you can get a good OC with less voltage.
    My old 955BE run @ 3.8 with less 0.5v than stock.
     
    itsakjt says thanks.
  10. wildbeast99t New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Reply

    Alright Thanks! Ill try that.

    It came with a cooler. Mabey I need an aftermarket cooler.

    Not sure what the case is, (bought at local store). Its a small antec with only 1 fan.

    Build is from 2010
    Ill reply later
     
  11. wildbeast99t New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes both fans are working.

    If your asking about thermal paste, it came with it on the heatsink

    Not really sure about stock heat under load.
     
  12. Wrathier

    Wrathier

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    118 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sweden currently.
    Many heatsinks comes with pre paste.

    It is my experience, that it is worth to remove the pre paste and apply your own paste.

    It will often give you signifiently much better results.

    Remember that you shall only apply very little and put it over the chip. A fat layer is no good.

    This guide How to Remove and Apply Thermal Compound [Updated... can help if you never tried it before.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page