1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Heatsink for AM3 Socket

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mrx888, Mar 18, 2012.

  1. mrx888 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys!

    I write because I'm looking for a new heatsink which allow me to overclock and doesn't require removing motherboard to install it. I can spend around $ 50. My idea: Arctic Freezer A30. Any comments about it?

    Also, I would like some recommendations on how to improve the airflow inside the case.

    Case: Asus Vento TA-D2 (Official Site - Review)
    Motherboard: Asus M4A87TD EVO (Official Site)
    Processor: AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE C3 (Official Site)
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,074 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    honestly if ur gonna overclock do it the right way, just like vehicles u gonna have to get your hands "dirty"

    Reason CPU coolers are now like that is due to bulkiness. If you want a good unit you will have to remove the board otherwise you risk damage to the socket retainers and plastic cant hold them taught enough.

    go to newegg, xoxcide, frozencpu, directron.com for cpu coolers
     
  3. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,836 (8.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,247
    That AC A30 you mention should be able to be installed w/o removing your board. It seems to be a decent cooler and should allow you to overclock some.

    Here's a Xigmatek option (need both pieces):

    XIGMATEK Gaia SD1283 120mm Long Life Bearing CPU C...

    and

    XIGMATEK Crossbow Ack Ati775 Mounting Kit for AMD ...

    Use the Intel mounts bolted onto the cooler and the adapter will allow you installed direct as well as turn the cooler in the proper direction. I did the same with my Xig Dark Knight in my rig so I know this will work.

    In either case it will be a tight fit to get your hands in there and you will need to remove your PSU (I think the PSU is on the top side in an ASUS Vento?) and probably your ram to install the cooler.... pulling the board will give you many more options
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,636 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    The AC A30 is not meant to OC with, it is a factory replacement w/o noise.

    As for finding one with mounting that does't require a back plate, they also don't offer the pressure needed to make great contact. If you plan to OC, I would take the road of removing the board for a superior mounting system.
     
    eidairaman1, ThE_MaD_ShOt and Norton say thanks.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    Many coolers will use the stock AMD backplate, you can unscrew the stock plastic retention pieces and the backplate should remain in place.
     
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,636 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Erocker makes a very valid point. You may very well be able to get a cooler to go on without removing the motherboard. On my AM3 board the back plate isn't taped or mounted to the motherboard once the screws are out. So be careful as you may knock the plate out and have to remove the board anyways.
     
  7. Rehernmas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The Freezer A30 seems to be a decent choice for AM3 socket. I saw it on their website that you can even switch to any other case fan as well.

    Will you also consider water cooling? Even though I'm not a fan of water cooling, but they actually do a good job to keep the CPU cool.
     
  8. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,981 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,393
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    you have many stuff, from
    [​IMG]
    DEEPCOOL ICE EDGE 400 FS,
    [​IMG]
    ZALMAN HCP -01,
    [​IMG]
    THERMALTAKE Contac 30,
    [​IMG]
    XIGMATEK HDT-S963,
    [​IMG]
    XIGMATEK HDT-S1284F,
    [​IMG]
    DEEPCOOL ICE MATRIX 400,
    [​IMG]
    PROLIMATECH Samuel 17,
    [​IMG]
    NOCTUA NH-U9B SE2,
    [​IMG]
    THERMALRIGHT TRUE Spirit 140,
    [​IMG]
    THERMALRIGHT HR-02 Macho
    and many more but i guess try noctua, they have nice performance
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2012
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,500 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,198
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I've used both of these cooler, honestly I like the CNPS9900MAX-B best, but the ThermalTake Frio (if you don't care about noise,) lets you swap out fans, which is what I used on my own Phenom II rig before I replaced it with a SB-E rig.

    These are both tall HSFs, so make sure you have the room between your mobo and your case, however the ThermalTake could cover your first memory slot and will prevent you from using memory unless you:
    A: Don't use a second fan.
    B: Are using standard height memory.

    Zalman CNPS9900MAX-B (Blue LED)
    ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-B 135mm Long life bearing CPU C...

    ThermalTake Frio (Push-pull)
    Thermaltake Frio Overclocking-Ready Intel Core i7 ...

    This is what I mean about the size of the Frio though, notice the memory.
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Mulderer

    Mulderer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Bandung, Indonesia
    almost all universal cooler from deepcool don't require removing motherboard.. i know cos i'm using several from them..
    currently i'm using zalman cp-92a produced by zalman shenzhen,,only US 12.. LOL
     
  11. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,198 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Be sure to check installation instructions carefully. I've done 2 builds with a CM Hyper 212+. Its a great cooler but can be a pain to install. Plus I ran into an issue where one board had pins sticking through the coating on it's special backplate. The coating is just a thick sticker so its not super solid. This caused the system to be unstable. Fixed it by taking the plastic strip off the board's stock plate and applying it to the 212's.
     
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,500 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,198
    Location:
    Concord, NH
  13. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,981 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,393
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    sorry too many coolers :eek:
    not all just some, for now i use xigmatek
    with your budget you gonna have many cooler, so maybe you could go more specific like for OC, you need silent system, smaller cooler (maybe) since your case is small or like that
    personally i would take noctua since their performance is good, thermaltake frio could in the list too
    deepcool ice matrix is not bad especially compared to their price :toast:
     
  14. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    793 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    I was looking at the Ice Wind model and it has a built in clip that points the cooler in the correct direction (vertically) and uses the two standard AMD posts on the motherboard. Should be a simple installation.

    http://www.deepcool-us.com/product/ICE_WIND/

    I actually have a old Xigmatek HDT-S1283 and its hanging on the motherboard with the standard AMD retention mechanism. Its pointing horizontally, but still gives good cooling. I get high 40s in gaming and 56c on Prime95. I'm sure bolting it to the motherboard with a backplate is better, but I don't toss my case around or move it too often. Its stays put. :)
     
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Why is it such a bother to remove the motherboard? It's easy.....
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,500 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,198
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It depends on how lax your computer setup is in terms of wire placement and things you have to reconnect. In mine it is a pain because I have a RAID-0 and a RAID-5 so I have to put all the hard drives in the same SATA ports as they were before. You have to make sure cables stay where they're supposed to go so it doesn't mess up your wiring placement. Just cleaning it back up afterwards can be a pain. It depends on how meticulous you are about having it look nice and clean and how much time you really have to do it.
     
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Didn't mean to disrespect or sound rude but really doubt that is the case for the OP.
     
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,074 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    I have an old case myself n ya i have to remove alot to get to mobo. But is just as easy to put it all back due to velcro tape i use
     
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,500 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,198
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I was just giving a reason why a lot of people don't like doing it. I wasn't saying this was the case for him, but rather from my own experience. The OP didn't say he didn't like taking it out, did he? I wasn't quite sure who you were responding to, I just had an answer from my perspective. :cool:
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Of course I know what you are saying. Just mentioning it as the best coolers on the market, its near required to pull the board and use the 3rd party backplate/mounting.
     
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,500 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,198
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Not on LGA2011 where the bolt theads/backplate are built into the motherboard. A great move if you ask me.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Very true. Must admit I do like its socket mounting.
     
  23. mrx888 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2012
  24. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    793 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    You'll not get the Noctua installed without pulling the motherboard (requires a back plate). The Scythe should if you have enough room to work around it. All it requires is a couple of tool-less clips.
     
  25. mrx888 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    About the Noctua, I read the FAQs and I found:
    Does the package include a backplate for AMD AM2/AM2+/AM3?
    No. As most AMD mainboards come with a stock backplate preinstalled, the cooler doesn’t include an AMD backplate. If your mainboard doesn’t have a backplate, please contact our support team at support@noctua.at.

    So, I shouldn't pulling the mobo to install it while for Intel's mobos yes.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page