1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Heavy quad build (£3-4k budget) Help

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by twicksisted, Sep 29, 2008.

  1. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Hey guys,

    I have been asked to build this for a mate of mine at work... he wanted to get a dual G5 mac and i managed to talk him out of it... anyways he was happy to part with £3-4k for the mac along with a monitor. he works for a record label and does a bit of everything really.

    Main purpose of this rig is audio production, video production (not much a bit of adobe premiere), Web Design, Photoshop, and he wants to do a lot of Gaming too. so all in all a good all rounder.

    I told him to wait a few months for nehalem and then i do him an X58 with a nehalem quad & some DDR3, perhaps two 24" screens and around 2TB storage.

    He dosent want to wait, he wants it now!!!... sooo... one option will be to build him a Q6600 quad on a DDR3 board... then when nehalem comes along just swap the board and chip for the new ones (obviously leaving enough in the budget for that).

    Any Ideas... what parts would you use etc.
    Use this site if you in the states and dont know the value of the pound ;) www.overclockers.co.uk
     
  2. kyle2020 Guest

    OR you could go skulltrail?
     
  3. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,250 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Let him get the mac. The audio production industry is mac based, so let him stay with the standard, and be able to use his PC for work.
     
  4. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Well the thing is, i want to give him value for money with this... bang for buck... skulltrail is on slow ram and to be honest I dont think its worth it... specially with Nehalem so close.

    If i did a P35 with a Q6600 or 8400 chip... overclocked it a bit for him stably... then in a few months drop in a nehalem board and chip I think that would be the right way to go perhaps.
     
  5. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    I produce music too...
    The standard is MAC, but only becuase Logic only runs on a mac... protools runs on PC and actually better ;)
    He on the other hand uses ~Ableton & nuendo... so a mac is not neccessary.
    (im very anti mac hehe... had to work on one for 2 years a long time ago and hated every second... at least now they are so similar to pc in every way).
     
    lemonadesoda says thanks.
  6. kyle2020 Guest

    Sounds good. You could even drop him an E8200 or an E7200 in it and overclock the nuts of it.

    What graphics are we talking also?
     
  7. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    He's not particularily computer savvy (which is why im building and advising), but after explaining the ins & outs of the latest gfx hardware he wants to go GTX280 or HD4870X2... (sli or crossfire wouldnt be a good idea I dont think when running intense audio applications as the soundcard would also be using that bus... and he wants something that will work out the box... no sweat).
     
  8. kyle2020 Guest

    Slap a 4870X2 in it and call it a day. Heres what i come up with:

    ASUS P5K Premium (solid overclocker, reliable as hell, cheap and look nice)
    E8400 or equivalent - remember they do 4Ghz on crazy low voltage
    4870X2 or a GTX280
    8GB of Corsair or equivalent RAM (would he need 8GB?)
    Some Samsung Spinpoints (1TB) in RAID O
    A Corsair 650W PSU (dont know what models are etc)
    And a case like a Lian Li or something thats quite low key?
     
  9. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Do you guys think that the non "Extreme" version of the Q9650 quad core chip is a good idea to go for if not planning to move to nehalem? If I were to do this build for him, It would probably be non-overclocked (or mildly overclocked) as stability is key... I dont want him calling me everyday as its crashing etc...
     
  10. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,250 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    OK, so long as you have both agreed what software he needs to run... and the software and file compatibility is OK with him.

    Skulltrail aint so bad. "The RAM is slow". Well, actually, only vis-a-vis regular DDR2 >6400 on single threaded. Benchmarks show it, but in practice this isnt going to be noticable when doing stuff on the PC. In fact, there is an argument that in multitasking situations, the FB-DIMMs are just as fast.

    1./ This is a nice board: http://geizhals.at/deutschland/a318034.html

    2./ Stick in two of these: http://geizhals.at/deutschland/a293868.html (Only 50W each and passive cooler)

    3./ And make sure you get 4 or 6 sticks of FB-DIMM 6400 x8 dual rank. 2 sticks is suboptimal... you only get dual channel performance, not wuad channel performance. That's where is loses to regular DDR2.

    4./ Then get a mac alu keyboard. They really are the best kbs out there and work fine on a PC. Why not a 30" cinema display also? That way he has the best of both worlds. "Apple look" and PC hardcore.

    5./ GTX280 works out of the box. Is plenty powerful enough, and has CUDA, which *might* be useful to him. Photoshop CS4 IIRC has CUDA based plugins for extreme picture processing.
     
    twicksisted says thanks.
  11. King Wookie

    King Wookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    I'll be watching this one with interest. I'm also in the audio field, so I use a macbookpro for audio and lecturing, while my pc is gaming centered. Audio on pc is viable, but a few tweaks will help with stability. The Steinberg forums are a good source of info.

    One bit of advice: let him go dual boot, with general internet etc. and gaming on one, and audio on another drive or partition.

    And audio LOVES quad and plenty ram.
     
  12. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    hey lemonsoda... youre actually tempting me with this skulltrail idea... but ... wouldnt nehalem walk all over it ?
    Im just thinking I could build him a temporary solution (like all the ram, HDD's, Case , DVD R/W, PSU, GFX, (then a Q6600 & DDR3 and P35 board))... then in a few months just drop a nehalem and X58 mobo in.
     
  13. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    nice, Ill post pics of the build... as my home rig costc about £2500... and that was my biggest build... most of the other builds I do are for people on budgets hehe... so this one should be good... i have the freedom to go mad with it really.

    audio on my Q6600 rocks hehehe.... I know its not neccessary, but I produce now in 24bit 192khz... and can load up a tremendous amount of VST plugs and channels and have no worries atall... (my old P4 used to only handle about 4 channels in 24/96 hehehe)
     
  14. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,250 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Nehalem wont walk all over 8 true cores. If you take a look at Cinebench 10, you will see that a Quad Core 2 gets a performance factor of about 3.7x compared to a single core. The Nehalem gets 4.1x (due to HT). Whereas dual xeon quads with true 8 cores will get you 7.0+x.

    Of course, these figures change app by app. But IMO the dual xeons win Nehalem. The question is whether dual xeons are overkill. But for the über-enthusiast, who cares about too much power? :roll:
     
  15. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Eh not really....

    I run Cubase, Reason and Sonar on a pc, so do a lot of other people.

    But I'm about to build a pc and install mac os for Logic Studio...

    Personally if you are going to do a pc for him get a Xeon x3230 :)

    Or you could go with a set of xeon 5k series chips, no need for the skulltrail, that's more of a gamers board.

    Key to a good production system is lots of ram, fairly fast processor *even a e7200 is plenty to be honest* and some good quick hard drives..

    Trust me my DAW is a e6420 @ 2.8 and I run far more than 90% of the producers out there at once and have no issues with 8gb of ram and XP x64.

    Try 30 instruments *software synths* and well over 100 effects, never see over about 30% usage.

    As for the some gaming part, even a base level server/workstation board will have x16 slot, toss a single 4870 or something in there call it a day.
     
  16. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Not only 8 TRUE cores, you also get 2 TRUE processors!

    4 cores and 8 threads at 3.6ghz is still 3.6ghz...

    8 cores and 8 threads on 2 chips at 3.6ghz is pretty much 7.2ghz and physically 8 cores and threads.
     
  17. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,250 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
  18. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Wow... Reading this thread has really shown me what kinda power is out there if you want to spend the money to get it. Its just amazing what we can put into a pc nowadays :rockout:
     
  19. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    getyour self a nehalen gainstown server cpu with dual socket mainboard lga1366
    6gb's of ddr3 1066mhz ( 3 for each cpu)

    or wait for nehalem beckton server cpu 8 cores = 16 threads native die
    supports Multie socket mainboard 2 or 4 or more
     
  20. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Nehalem Beckton easly kils a dual socket quad xeon
    + it handels multie socket 2 or 4 or more
    true multie scaling
    2x beckton = 24 threads
    4x beckton = 48 threads
     
  21. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,250 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    OK, OK, just like sandybridge will kill beckton.

    Point is, he wants it NOW, not at the end of 2009!
     
  22. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Ill chat with him today at work and discuss the options...
    i think the important thing will be to have a chip and board that we can dual boot with vista 64 & XP pro 32 as a lot of audio programs do not like Vista just yet.
    Ill have to look into these server baords and how they run a dual boot setup like that and if the need to run solely on a server OS in 64bits or not.

    thanks for all the suggestions :) I look forward to this build
     
  23. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    As everyone else is concentrating on the CPU, RAM and GFX, why not throw in a shit hot SSD to handle the OS and have the 2TB HDDs for storage.

    I know the prices are pretty damn high on SSDs and the write speeds aren't as good as they should be, but the read performance would be pretty freakin' fast - food for thought... maybe.
     
  24. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    According to benchmarks but I find them biased and not to reliable. I would wait until we have individuals doing thier own benchmarks to see how it performs in real world conditions.
     
  25. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I know this wouldn't really be practical, but I couldn't resist...

    [​IMG]

    Tom's Hardware do a review and here is the official product page.

    Just image, he could have have his EQ or something on the touch-screen, then on a 24" or so, the rest of his software, like the time-line or whatever it's called. :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page