1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help 560ti faulty? or something else

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by white phantom, Apr 10, 2012.

  1. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    Hiya guys n gals :)

    right built my rig (in the specs) start of the year so january(ish), i have been having a few problems with it some just beginning to happen, sometimes when i sit and watch a film/tv via media center or video on youtube the computer locks up and the screen artifacts as can be seen in the pic attached. My question is this my gpu (bought start of 2012 brand new) on its way out already :mad::cry: or could it be something else? It is a ASUS 560ti TOP (stock 900mhz oc)

    the power supplies a corsair tx650

    things i have tried:

    * pulling card out and reseating
    *expelling the very little dust in it
    *disconnecting and reconnecting firmly the two 6 pin pci-e cables
    *running afterburner (passes)
    *playing games (few major artifacts in battlefield 3 but read it was down to performance/driver bugs than card) usually plays fine
    *drivers (latest nvidia off site) happened in last drivers /last betas i tried aswell)

    Also when i go to overclock my rig it sits stable and passes ibt on max 20-50 passes and runs for 3-5hours then suddenly shuts off and restarts? could the GPU be causing this?, everything runs fine stock, thinking it could be RAM failure instead of the gpu i ran memtest today for a few hours both boot disc and in windows and it finds no errors

    help please:confused:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 10, 2012
  2. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,619 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    You have another pc to test just the gpu ? or another psu?
     
    white phantom says thanks.
  3. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Which drivers are you on?
     
    white phantom says thanks.
  4. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    nope sadly :( got spare parts but no drive to boot from and my wee bros is still rocking AGP, forgot to add this didn't happen with my 9600gt Oc edition, just started happening with this gpu

    on latest drivers from nvidia, happened previous versions and betas before these drivers (which are still doing it) sorry forgot to mention drivers shall amend:laugh:
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,774 (9.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,236
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I would get with ASUS for RMA
     
    white phantom and LifeOnMars say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    It seems a few people have been having these issues with GTX 560ti's. I also have an Asus GTX560ti, touch wood it hasn't displayed any of these abnormalities yet.

    I'm with Brandon, I think you should RMA as soon as possible. Good luck matey.
     
    white phantom says thanks.
  7. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    sorrry for the late reply guys have been extremely busy running around getting planning for new cloud systems and shiz

    does asus require me to pay shipment costs both ways? i am in scotland where would asus be located? :S

    could i ask were you read this mate? it has just done it again this time on youtube, watching a video them bam pinky red screen, mouse turned into a large white line moved for a bit them locked up :/ have another screenshot will try get it uploaded somepoint much the same thing though tbh, will also try to find the battlefield pics i took

    P.S may i add the temps never more than 65*C which is nothing for this card i though, idles low 20's so not heat related
     
  8. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    I think the new beta drivers are causing problems.
     
    white phantom says thanks.
  9. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    i am on the latest non-beta drivers though mate from nvidia and im sure it done it on the previous sets aswell :/, as i say only just started happening usually during silly flash videos (youtube) and media center e.t.c, not during a game as far as i know ?
     
  10. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    I'm having driver problems with my 560ti448 right now. Drivers are corrupted and my card is not clocking to full speeds. Unable to install any driver. Problem started when I installed the newest beta driver.
     
  11. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    977 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Location:
    Europa
    ^
    weird, my factory OC'ed 570gtx isnt affected like that, but i saw few factory OC'ed 580gtx users reporting that. And yes all said it started with latest 301.24.. Gpu not entering full 3d freq. but voltage does, or something lke that.. Btw did you force Adaptive vsync in global profile? One user said he fixed this low freq. bug when he disabled Adaptive vsync in global profile.



    @white phantom

    yes that pink screen or PSOD named by some started with 296.10, some say its fixed with 301.24..

    Also 295.73whql are without this issue.


    And its mostly 460/560TI gtx users that suffer form this bug.. Imo it was a "fix" for TDR - driver stopped responding, again happening mostly to 460/560Ti gpus, and somehow caused this side effect - PSOD
     
  12. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    My problem is related to a corrupted physx instalation that has jacked up my system 3d registry. I've been trying many new drivers lately.

    Fresh install of OS coming soon.
     
  13. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    On guru 3d some members have reported the PSOD or dots. It has also been said, like others have mentioned, that the new beta drivers are causing issues for some.
     
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,848 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,456
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I used to have a GeForce 7900 GT and at the end of its life it was showing rainbow colored dots, and not small dots, but large semi-transparent blotches on the display in any mode. Each blotch was only 1 color but they all varied in color. It ended up being that the video memory was failing.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page