1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help!!! Are these temps high for my setup???

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by pabloottawa, Feb 4, 2011.

  1. pabloottawa

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    250 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hi guys,

    I just tried setting the bios to XMP and just the multipliers to 190 x 100. Everything else I left on AUTO. I then rebooted and ran Linx and it was stable but I found i was running a bit hot. I'm just wondering if these figures will damage the CPU.

    I do know that overclocking will wear down the CPU over time and I accept that. What i really want to know is if these numbers and temps are too dangerous to handle. I'm using Kingston Value Ram and it has held up SO FAR. I'll upgrade to better Ram when i have the cash but for now it's KVR.

    Here is my setup, my temps and the results I got running Linx

    Setup:

    Win 7 x64 Raid 0
    ASUS P6T motherboard
    Cooler Master Silent Pro 1000W
    Intel i7 930 @ 4Ghz
    Kingston KVR 1333 12GB 6x2
    Corsair H70 CPU liquid cooling
    Crossfire Primary: Asus EAH 5850 Secondary: Powercolor 5850
    Cooler Master HAF 922 Case


    Temps during test:

    Core 0 High 91 low 41
    Core 1 High 87 low 39
    Core 2 High 85 low 41
    Core 3 High 81 low 33


    Linx test results:

    Intel(R) LINPACK 64-bit data - LinX 0.6.4

    Current date/time: Fri Feb 04 09:52:10 2011

    CPU frequency: 4.009 GHz
    Number of CPUs: 8
    Number of threads: 8

    Parameters are set to:

    Number of tests : 1
    Number of equations to solve (problem size) : 10000
    Leading dimension of array : 10008
    Number of trials to run : 20
    Data alignment value (in Kbytes) : 4

    Maximum memory requested that can be used = 800844256, at the size = 10000

    ============= Timing linear equation system solver =================

    Size LDA Align. Time(s) GFlops Residual Residual(norm)
    10000 10008 4 13.904 47.9610 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.650 48.8532 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.548 49.2212 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.613 48.9891 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.662 48.8116 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.814 48.2752 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.574 49.1279 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.607 49.0085 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.567 49.1547 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.652 48.8480 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.659 48.8209 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.625 48.9450 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.556 49.1921 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.630 48.9269 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.597 49.0435 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.540 49.2513 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.621 48.9598 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.542 49.2439 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.620 48.9607 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002
    10000 10008 4 13.705 48.6589 9.915883e-011 3.496441e-002

    Performance Summary (GFlops)

    Size LDA Align. Average Maximal
    10000 10008 4 48.9127 49.2513

    End of tests

    Cheers and Thanks :toast:
     
  2. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    over 80° O_O Well if its centigrade, load temps are high. Idle seems okay. But damn average 90°...
     
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    HMMM check your Vcore with CPUz cause with a H70, you shouldnt get those temps. leaving everything on auto is a no no for me, The motherboard sometimes thinks 1.5V is good for the CPU lolz
     
    pabloottawa says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    AUto-voltage is no go. That's probably your heat issue.
     
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  5. pabloottawa

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    250 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hey guys thanks for the replies,

    Here are some numbers from CPU-Z at idle:

    Core Speed: 4007.6
    Multiplier: X 21
    Bus Speed: 190.8 MHz
    QPI Link: 3435.3 MHz
     
  6. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Listen to the man on the amazing horse. Its most likely voltage related. Automatic settings may do the trick for minor overclocks, but the higher you want to go, the more you should adjust manually. And the voltage, you should adjust that always manually.

    For example, Frequency X, and automatic generates voltage Y, which is too high.
    But with manual tuning, you can get to frequency X with voltage Z, which is considerably lower than the automatic setting, thus lowering your temps.
     
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  7. pabloottawa

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    250 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Another thing is, with the an i7 board and on the 930 there are so many places to enter voltage and core numbers. Example; in the bios it doesn't just have "vcore voltage", it has

    CPU VOLTAGE
    and
    CPU PLL VOLTAGE

    there's tons of other voltages listed so it's a bit confusing and I do apologize but when it comes to all this I am a total noob. Also I just tried setting the CPU VOLTAGE to 1.25 and the linx test caused a BSOD. so now What?
     
  8. pabloottawa

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    250 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hey guys thanks for all the help....

    I just set my CPU voltage to 1.35 and ran Linx and it went through with no errors or crashes so would this be a good first step in setting the bios manually??? If so what would be next?

    By the way, like I said, there are tons of different voltages to set so when you all say "set this voltage" or "change that" I am compelled to guess at which "thing" to set. Here is a pic to explain the different voltages and controls.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 001.jpg
      001.jpg
      File size:
      96.3 KB
      Views:
      113
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,782 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    my temp goes about 80 celcius on air cooling at stock clock, but when your rig is oced with water cooling i guess it could be lower or at least stay about 80
    personally i prefer checking the cooler first before change other things, the water, fan, water block, the loop and so
    what bout thermal paste? And the airflow, your room ambient is affect the whole temp too
     
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  10. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    752 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    just lower your vcore as much as you can. i suppose you are not gonna attempt any higher than 4GHz?
     
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  11. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,249 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    I would reset the Bios to optimal defaults - this way you make sure the voltages are all on default. If the problem continues I guess the H70 is not install right. Maybe needs some more thermal paste or something like that
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2011
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  12. pabloottawa

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    250 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    OK,

    I set the CPU VOLTAGE to: 1.35 and the DRAM bus voltage to 1.6, ran some tests and they are stable.

    So all in all here are the settings that I customized for overclocking.. So is this safe? Will my case explode in a month??? and in all honesty, will buying fancy shmancy RAM make things better? Cooler Temp wise?

    I'm really NOT looking to have a flashy PC and case, I just want something that performs really well for the money. I'm not a neon, led lights "look at my case" kind of guy.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 002.jpg
      002.jpg
      File size:
      96.3 KB
      Views:
      69
    • 003.jpg
      003.jpg
      File size:
      91 KB
      Views:
      84
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2011
  13. pabloottawa

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    250 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15

    Thanks for the tip micropage. Since it was the first time installing the H70 I used the thermal compound already on the cooler. The installation of the cooler onto the CPU was not entirely smooth and lead to the compound getting a little smudged. Not much mind you, just a little. Also, I had to twist the radiator so that the hoses would be on the bottom as opposed to how it's meant to be installed. This was done so that the hoses would not interfere with the 200mm case fan on the side panel.

    Just because the cooler wasn't installed the EXACT way it's supposed to go I suppose it's a reason to believe it's not cooling to it's full potential but I don't see why this would affect anything.

    The room temps hit 26.5 Celsius in the middle of the day so this might be a factor. And lastly there is the way the cooler sits on the CPU. For the cooler head to fit snugly onto the CPU it's a simple matter of pressing the head into the retention ring and twisting it. Them you tighten the screws on the retention ring BUT, what if you didn't tightness all the screws down to the same tightness? This could mean that the cooler head isn't seated properly and therefore not cooling to spec. So in light of all this new info. Does anyone else have any other suggestions?

    Thanks again for all your help
     

    Attached Files:

    • 004.jpg
      004.jpg
      File size:
      104.5 KB
      Views:
      107
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2011
  14. b82rez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    134 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    I say buy some nice after market thermal paste and reseat your H70 then go to the Overclocking thread here and read the overclocking guide. No offense but it sounds like you need some training in OCing buddy! :)
     
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  15. pabloottawa

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    250 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    No offense taken... I'm a self proclaimed NOOB at all this and to be honest it's a bit confusing. All these numbers and terms and I don't mind learning it all but I'm really surprised that not that many people are using an overclocked P6T with an i7930 paired with Kingston Value RAM and an H70 cooler..... Lol Am I the only one here? :twitch:

    I'm gonna see if I can find an old tube of arctic silver. I know there is some here in my office..... Somewhere haha
     
  16. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Read this guide. It will help no matter which board you have. The guy who wrote this was one of us "early adopters" to the x58 platform. Read, then take your time making subtle changes in the bios. The biggest mistakes noobs make is rushing into major changes, not stability testing, and not keeping a close eye on temps. Once you've clocked the chip slowly to 3.8ghz or so, and you still have high temps then the answer may very well be remounting the cooler. Don't count on google for that specific board initially either, as it may steer you in the wrong direction, since each i7 will handle your settings differently. I know this based on more than a dozen that I've overclocked.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=108526
     
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  17. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    On the thermal paste side,the one that comes with the H70 is actually the one of the best ones on the market,so that wouldnt be an issue.on the smearing it during the installation process side,it could make some sense,since the 10 degrees differnce between core 0 and core 3 is just too much.there will be always a difference,but 10 degrees seems to be too much.also could indicate one of your concerns you've mentioned-that the screws are not tightened evenly.Im also on core i7 930 @ 4GHz and the hottest core during hight stress tests after lets say an hour would be 86-87 degree,so its like 82-87 across the 4 cores..on the core voltage side,try 1.325V..on the in which position you've installed the cooler side,It shouldnt make any difference..at what speed are you using the fans?did you check if you didnt install one of them accidentaly the wrong way?...Also,you could try to install them the way that they are pulling air into the case,not blowing it out.check the speed of the fans..

    EDIT:sorry my mistake,Im not on core i7 930,but 950 :D sorry bout this missleading information.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2011
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  18. pabloottawa

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    250 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Mechanically I'm not that bad.... I do my own maintenance on my car (A4 1.8T Quattro) and if you've ever own a turbo charged car you know that you're always tinkering with it. That said I know I installed the fans correctly in a push pull configuration moving air INTO the case. The screws however do raise a bit of doubt so I'll have another look at that tonight.

    Rado, what kind of memory are you using?
     
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    memory does not affect temps at all.

    dumb question you did pull the plastic off of everything right?
     
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  20. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Im using 6GB 3-channel kit from g.skill at..hell its all in my specs :D
    What I was just thinking is,that since you've got double of the amout of the memory I have..now if Im right,this should let the stress programs to push your rig that much further in terms of utilizing all the resources to max stress.everybody knows that higher bandwich thanks to your 12GB of memory is simply making the processor working faster and harder = more heat..but I might be wrong.

    EDIT:
    I believe it does,at least in stress tests.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2011
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  21. pabloottawa

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    250 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Now,

    I went in and rechecked the tightness and retightened everything with 2 fingers on the screw driver to what I *think* is the same tightness. Rado, I took your advice and set the Vcore to 1.325 but have not run Linx yet. Update to follow....
     
  22. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Hey,you could try as low as it goes!thats the best thing to do.dont worry,with too low voltage you cant do any harm you your cpu..it will simply BSOD upon stressing but thats it..you can go in the bios and change it..honestly the best strategy is to find the lowest possible core voltage..you could be surprised how much difference it will make in the temperatures!
     
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    well it doesn't i am telling you from experience

    if your car was overheating would you blame it on your tires? same thing here
     
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  24. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    sorry,but even if I would agree with you,this example was totally wrong :D

    What about:Lets say 21" tires = less RAM (spinning slower) and 14" tires = more RAM (spinnig faster)
    which tires will get hotter and wear out quicker??....:toast:
     
    pabloottawa says thanks.
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    yes but the car isn't running any hotter. it does not matter i have run all sorts of systems ram does not make the cpu hotter its just ram.

    since you didn't get the first analogy how about this does a blue car's engine run any hotter than a red one's?
     
    pabloottawa says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page