1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help! at wits ends, Games crashing like monster trucks!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Xazax, Sep 9, 2011.

  1. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    I'm at the point of crying here :( i cant figure out what the issue is! :banghead: :cry:

    Here my problem, Almost every game i play, crashes inadvertently.. and randomly.

    List of games that crash
    Crysis 2(Crashes often, usually only after 10-30mins of gameplay!)
    R.U.S.E.(Crashes to desktop, sometimes with an error box.
    World of Tanks (crashes randomly to desktop at times)
    Shogun 2 Total War(Crashes to desktop or freezes)

    System Specifications:
    Intel Q9550 clocked currently to 3.2Ghz /w 1.25v
    ASUS X48 Rampage Formula II
    Both Chipset and CPU watercooled by Koolance Double rad system /w Apogee XT
    4GB(2x2GB) Gskill Ram currently OC'ed to 900mhz 5-5-5-15 T2
    2 x Intel 80GB G2 SSDs RAID 0
    Nvidia EVGA GTX 580 currently OC'ed to 865/2200mhz 1.1v aircooled 85% Fanspeed
    Brand new Corsair GS600, 600w PSU (Note the psu that was in it previously died while playing Crysis 2)

    Monitor Resolution is 1920x1200

    Dont know whats up its killing me! i've ran Furmark and Intel Burn test, CPU passed all levels of stress test while i running Furmark!! brand new install of Windows 7 as well.

    Why is every game crashing but Intel burn test and everything else is fine? >.<
  2. Play3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    do you only have 2 intel ssds? you may not have enough amps from your psu.
  3. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    Do you still get crashes if you run CPU, RAM and GPU at stock clocks?
    It's the first thing you should try (yes even if benchmarks run fine)...
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,720 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Location:
    US
    Remove overclock on the video card and loosen ram timings and see if that helps. And make sure the ram voltages are right as i know mine have a +0.06 over what i set mine at.
  5. Suhidu

    Suhidu

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    163 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Drivers & BIOS up to date?

    I'm not saying that it absolutely couldn't be the PSU, but SSDs don't use much power.
  6. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    Drivers NV 280.66, BIOs latest update.
  7. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,213 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,438
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    My GTX 580 Lightning running stock at 832MHz requires (specification on box) at least a 700Watt PSU with 42A. You're running faster and my card is actually more efficient than a stock card.

    What was your previous PSU - you didn't say?

    And remember Furmark will not stress a GTX 580 properly.

    Try looping Unigine 2.0 at all highest settings, see if that crashes your overclocked 580? Run it for an hour or so.
  8. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    What will test a GTX 580 properly? the last PSU i was chancing it, it was an older KingWin 600w PSU. It end up dying in the middle of playing Crysis 2 :(
  9. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,213 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,438
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
  10. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    Ran two benchmarks of Heaven DX11 and no problems.
  11. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,213 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,438
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Hmm...

    Run everything at stock, including the memory and start from there. Use the mobo's defaults (as long as it doesn't mess up your SSD's ACHI settings?). CPU, GFX and Memory, all back to stock. If things are still crashing, reload your gfx drivers (clean install). Still crashing? Try another PSU with higher Wattage and amperage (ask a friend?).

    After that I'm calling hardware issues. But I is teh n00b at diagnostics.
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,501 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    i would do as BP said. first remove all your overclocks and run the game.


    run prime95 after that.

    while running furmark be sure to have
    xtreme burning mode,
    displacement mapping
    and post FX ticked.
  13. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    Everything is back at stock settings(AUTO) including the GFX card. ill run Crysis 2 which really seems to crash my system and see what happens
  14. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,328 (6.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,354
    Location:
    IA, USA
    If that doesn't fix it, you might have a bad stick of RAM--unresponsive bit(s).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    I hope his problem is solved - if he did start playing Crysis 2 after his last post then he's been fine for over an hour...
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,501 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    oh BP, is so smart <3 ;) :cool:
  17. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    Well either a setting or the PSU is the culprit, because at stock settings it seems to run fine havent had any crashes as of yet
    Black Panther says thanks.
  18. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Check out your PSU, it might be clogged with dust. Happened to me a while back. Cleaned it out, and my system was back up to 100% stability.
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,439 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200
    If you bothered to read the OP and not skimmed over it, you would have seen that he said his PSU was just recently replaced after the last one died.

    ----


    Heres a suggestion. if you have a spare HDD around. put that in your rig instead, install W7, run it with a few games while overclocked and see if the problem still persists. you might need a fresh OS install
    techtard says thanks.
  20. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    I already did the OS thing, i had two Seagate HDDs and experienced crashing so i switched over to my Intel SSDs and still experienced crashing.

    As a note, i gamed on Crysis 2 all last night about 6 hours, and it crashed one time.
  21. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,213 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,438
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    If your system seems markedly more stable now (one crash in 6 hours isn't bad - games can crash) I'd keep it as it is for a few days and see how it goes. If you overclock and it starts crashing again, surely it's a power or heat issue.
  22. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,501 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    make sure your PSU is breathing properly. my PSU fan had been clogged up for some time and i hadnt noticed it till i was benching, and it went crash bam boom on me.
  23. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Yeah, I posted that after coming back from the bar and having a few drinks, so my reading comprehension wasn't working at 100% :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page