1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help, bad frames with a 9800 GT

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Slash Beast, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So I just bought a 9800 GT 1gb ddr3 today and installed it, but I'm getting noticably worse frames than previously on a stock 7300 LE.....

    I was averaging around 40 FPS in TF2 where there's alot going on, on the screen with my old card. Now I'm getting at best 30 in crowded areas where there's lots of action? Sometimes it'll dip down to 18 frames. I've tried messing with the resolution and the graphics settings but it seems that the lower res I got and the lower I turn my graphics settings I lose frames, which is odd.

    I've got an intel core 2 duo E6300 processor, 2 gigs of RAM
     
  2. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    could be a driver issue
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  3. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,254 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,014
    Location:
    Home
    the 2gigs of ram might be a problem, if some is used by the os and then 1gb used by the gfx card, that leaves tf2 with precious little to use
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    What drivers did you install and did you update DirectX?
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  5. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well I installed the drivers from the disc, but I just now got done installing drivers from the nvidia website so I haven't checked to see if it works yet.
     
  6. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah I'm using Vista 32bit, I was thinking it was the RAM because from what I understand my CPU is more than capable of handling the 9800 GT and that it wasn't bottlenecking.
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,254 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,014
    Location:
    Home
    Try what erocker said first, uninstall all the previous driver and then reinstall the newest stable ones. if it doesnt work, then I think it is time to consider other options
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    You need to do more than that when adding/switching to a new card.

    Follow this guide: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=52502

    Download the latest drivers from www.nvidia.com and install.
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  9. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,091 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I run the game with a similar system and average over 60 so that shouldn't be the issue. He is using drivers off of the disc. I'd try new ones.
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  10. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Where would I find these on the nvidia site? Because I DL'd the new drivers off there and still get low FPS. I'm thinking I need to do some tweaking to the settings but I don't know where to start.

    EDIT: I have a Physx system installed or something I might try to download latest physx drivers and see what that does.
     
  11. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,954 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I run TF2 on a 9800 GT 1GB @ 1920*1080 60+FPS no sweat. TF2 usually uses about 800MB-1.2GB of system ram on my 64bit OS (4GB RAM total). Slowdowns in TF2 are likely to be caused by a crappy CPU or low system memory. I would assume the latter with your system because I bet your 7300 had only 256MB or even 512MB of RAM, and now you have a 1GB framebuffer in your address space, plus DX9 I believe needs to cache VRAM on System RAM, plus hl2.exe using nearly a GB of RAM and I bet you are running out of memory.
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,942 (9.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,414
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Slash Beast says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I kinda figured that's what it was...

    Guess it's back to DX8 for me then.. :mad:
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,942 (9.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,414
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    dx8? i dont think the game will play on that
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Oh it certainly will. I've been playing it fine for a year now on DX8 with solid frames on the 7300 LE. Graphics were horrible bad but still very playable.
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,942 (9.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,414
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    a 9800GT should play that game well above 60FPS! my old 8800GTS 640mb (OLD G80 Chipset) would get over 70 with 1600x1200 res and everything on max
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,923 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,214
    a 9800GT should be able to play that game at max settings (with low AA) and still get 60FPS average (sure, it dips at times - but so does my system)


    you havent filled out the specs in your user CP, please do so. its likely that the rest of your PC is holding it back somehow.

    you gave us CPU and ram amount, but you didnt give us PSU details, or what settings you're trying to run the game at
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  18. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    TF2 ran smooth like butter @ 1280x1024 with all settings maxed on my single-core Athlon 64, 8600GT 512MB and 1GB RAM.
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  19. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    New PSU, just installed it last week. It's a Thermaltake Black Widow 550 watt. I've played the game in all settings combinations. Low res high graphic settings, high rez low graphic settings, high rez high graphic settings and low res low graphic settings. I've noticed that low res with low settings gets me even worse FPS, it'll dip down to the teens. But at higher res and medium settings it wont dip down below 25.

    Just played the game in DX8 like I have been before I got the 9800 and it's mostly the same, but a bit more stable as far as frames go.

    Specs:
    Intel Core 2 duo E6300 (dual core 64 bit processor, each core at 1.86 ghz 2 mb l2 cache, 1066 MHz FSB)
    BFG 9800 GT EcoIntelligence 1GB DDR3
    Thermaltake Black Widow 550w PSU
    320gb sataII hard drive
    2048 system memory
    Windows Vista 32 bit
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,923 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,214

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/profile.php?do=specs

    ^ you fill the specs in there.

    CPU should be enough for TF2 - unless somethings in the background chewing the FPS (Fraps, Xfire, antivirus, whatever - quit EVERYTHING not steam or the game)

    9800GT eco: thats a green model. its clocked fairly low. 550MHz core seems low to me when i ran my old 8800GT at 740Mhz core

    At idle, when doing nothing: can you check how much of your CPU is being used in task manager?
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  21. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    CPU Usage = 1%

    EDIT: Also, just downloaded EVE Online and I'd just like to say that game looks beautiful on this card and runs fantasic (even though EVE doesn't work well on Vista because of some DX problem I keep running into)
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2009
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,923 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,214
    directX problems eh?


    update directX manually from here
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  23. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well the DX problem is with Vista. Apparently Vista can't run anything lower than DX10 or something and Eve is a DX9 game so the background looks crappy but the models and everything are mind blowing, also get's like 100+ frames.

    So in short it's a OS compatibility issue.
     
  24. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Vista runs DX9 games just fine.
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  25. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I know it does but it's an EVE Online thing or something. Apparently there's not Vista support for the game. *shrug*
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page