1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help, bad frames with a 9800 GT

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Slash Beast, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,149 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,419
    have you tried updating directX like i asked, to see if it solves your problems in EVE and TF2?
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  2. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    I dont know whats wrong with your card but a 9800GT can surely kill a game like TF2. My old 9600GT ran the game very well on maxed out with 2GB ddr2 ram on vista in my former rig.... Theres no way a 9800GT will struggle to play TF2.:rolleyes:
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,294 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,035
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I had a buddy run Eve Online just fine on Vista x64 Sp1 and Sp2...but you might try Xp Compatability Mode and see if that helps.

    Here's the System Requirements from Steam's Eve Online:

    I'd definitely recommend updating your DX like Mussels recommended. :toast:
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2009
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  4. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Doesn't work in EVE but I haven't tried yet in TF2. Will give it a go shortly.
     
  5. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Xp Compatability? 's that?

    Also, IDK if I have Vista SP1 or 2. Where would I find out if I have either and where could I get it if I don't?
     
  6. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,294 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,035
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Windows Update (control panel)
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  7. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ahhh thanks.
     
  8. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well, I did everything yall suggested. DL'd and installed the dx drivers and the windows updates but not a single change in FPS. Dunno I'm at a loss here.
     
  9. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    maybe the 9800gtx is just bad and needs to be rma
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  10. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Doubt it...other games run flawlessly. And I'm getting about the same frames rates on this card as i did on my other.
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,623 (12.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,442
    Have you tried turning the multicore rendering option on or off?
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  12. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah, turning it on gets me about 5 -8 frames.
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,149 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,419
    would you mind listing resolution + all settings used in the game, in one post?

    this includes any command line tweaks, forcing DX8/9 whatever
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  14. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,423 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    891
    Location:
    London, UK
    this is a simple driver issue, i had the same issue
    if possible reformat your pc, if this is not an option then:
    1. Run Driver Sweeper to remove all remains of previous drivers
    2. reboot and download nvidia 195.39 drivers
    3. install them
    4. then reboot again
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,970 (8.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,450
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Install windows xp
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I tried to like a mofo but after getting a virus about a week ago I haven't been able to reinstall XP because of some stupid hal.dll error so I'm stuck with Vista now, lol. :banghead:

    Alrighty, I'll try that later.
     
  17. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    LOL like XP is the solution. XP is old and crappy. Windows 7 destroys it.

    And these issues are NOT being caused by your OS selection.
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  18. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I sure hope so...but regardless Vista still sucks the big one (imo, of coarse.) :p

    What I think the problem here in TF2 is either my system or poor optimization with TF2. I'm all installed with the latest drivers so..

    The problem with EVE apparently is a missing direct x file (keep getting a directx error near the end of game installation.) But I think after DL'ing those M$ DX files that Mussels provided I'll try to re DL/re install EVE and see if that fixes the problem.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2009
  19. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Concerning this post:

    I've done some researching on the temp/prefetch folders and I see alot of articles of people saying not to delete everything in there because some of the stuff are important, so I skipped that section and moved on to section C.

    Now I'm on Section: C Windows. I went to search and typed in ATI in the box and I have a TON of stuff that comes up. Some of that stuff says date last modified in 2001. Does that mean I have old ATI drivers on this machine for almost 9 years or something?? Also, do I delete everything it brings up? Some of that stuff doesn't look like it's driver related.

    EDIT: Ignore the above, I'm not seeing anything that says my name on it. Most of it is C:WINDOWS/SYSTEM32/DriverStore or C:WINDOWS/SYSTEM32/drivers or C:WINDOWS/SYSTEM32/DriverStore/FileRepository.

    EDIT2: Did the Driver Sweeper and then installed new drivers. It found about 16 things that I removed. Started up TF2 and I'm getting *slightly* better frames. Maybe a 3-5 frame increase.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2009
  20. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,520 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    325
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    you had a virus?

    maybe you should format & reinstall windows + drivers & see how it goes?
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  21. Slash Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Can't reinstall XP because I keep getting a hal.dll error. Very complicated to fix, so I just installed Vista.
     
  22. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    I don't understand, why don't you simply play on Vista? You'll get DX10 support and all.


    The 8800GT, even the green version, is about 10 times faster than a 7300 LE.

    When I changed from a X1900XT to a HD3870, I had to reformat my PC because it kept thinking my HD3870 was a X1900XT.

    These things happen quite often, unfortunately.. I'd say just reformat your PC and install Vista in it (given you already have a license).
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  23. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,097 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    What do you have the antialiasing set to? It might be too high by accident. Try to run it at 4x at most if 1680x1050 or below. 2x if higher, I'd say. Even at 1280x1024, 16x AA can be a jerk.

    Look in your nvidia control panel. Right click on the desktop to make it show as an option.
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  24. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto


    Even if he has 8x AA turned on, he didn't change any settings in the game itself. So the quality and resolution options remained the same.

    That said, the 9800GT should be many times faster than a 7300 LE, even with AA and AF maxed out.

    The 7300 LE is a 4 pixel and 3 vertex shader card @ 450MHz. It is a VERY slow card, even for TF2.
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.
  25. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,520 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    325
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    are talking about dual boot?

    If not then just use Vista unless you can get win7 , XP is almost 9 years old time to move on...
     
    Slash Beast says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page