1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help!!! Bios Error

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by JATownes, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    I went home for lunch a few minutes ago and noticed my computer was off. When I went to power it up, it posts, but then stops. BIOS LED on the board reads "SC". I tried pulling all the ram, reseating, single stick, clear CMOS, etc. No Luck. :banghead:

    MB is a DFI LP DK 790FXB-M2RSh. PLEASE HELP!!! This is my new toy.
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,668 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,179
    Set CMOS to the clear position and pull the battery. Leave it set for 5 minutes or so.
    Replace the battery and reset the jumper. See if that can't get you back into BIOS.
     
    JATownes says thanks.
  3. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    I will try that when I get home. After a quick google search, it appears the error code "5C" is "reserved". :confused: WTH does that mean??
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,668 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,179
    Im not really too sure to be real honest here. COuld just be reserved for only in house diagnostics.

    I see you are in the USA, you can call DFI and get a more difinative answer from the San Jose office.
     
    JATownes says thanks.
  5. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    I will give them a call in a bit when I get a free minute. Thanks.
     
  6. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    Well, I sent an email to DFI Tech Support. Here is there response.

    "IF that board is still within the narrow window of rma time with the vendor, would suggest you contact them and setup and rma with them. "

    I guess I should take this to mean my Rig is now down for a few weeks. I am still going to try and remove the battery to clear it.

    I have never RMA'd to the egg. How is the turn around time??

    Edit: DAMNIT!! RMA time is out (30 day return) at the egg. Any idea how long DFI takes to trade this out??
     
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,668 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,179
    About 3 weeks from your door out to your door in.

    You will have to fill out a pdf style RMA form, and have a copy of the reciept (Newegg prt scrn image).
     
    JATownes says thanks.
  8. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    Sneeky, you need to work for DFI. :D They almost had me return a perfectly good board. I give you a million thanks.

    Now I just have to reset all my clocks, but that is a good thing, because now I have an excuse to play some more.
     
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,668 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,179
    Glad it worked out for ya. If ever the boot up gets stopped, try this trick it usually will at least allow you to start over.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page