1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help! brand new i5 build instant bsod at boot

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by white phantom, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    hiya guys :)

    well i have just put myself together my what was meant to be "new replacement build" or that was the plan....

    it consists of

    Brand new i5 2500k (just broke the seal an hour ago)
    brand new 4 gig of pny optima ddr3 1333mhz i think (single stick)
    my old 9600gt for the time being to get me going
    my other old corsair tx650 psu
    megahalem by prolimatech
    hard drives - main 80 gig (os/boot drive) seagate baracuda, secondary 250gig maxtor

    "supposed" brand new asrock p67 pro (not pro3 just pro)

    the reason i say supposed is because i bought it off ebay as new sealed however it looks though it has dust on it(rear side) and it had a 2.4ghz bluetooth:confused: mini adapter plugged into one of the rear usbs which i thought did not come with it...

    anyway my main problem is that my rig just instant BSOD the second the windows 7 (64bit) logo comes in, you know how its like four wee balls makes a flag thingy :laugh:? well i dont get that far lol only way i can explain it

    i have reset the cmos and also tried the bios settings to default which btw were set at 4ghz turbo hmmm? changing my ram to different slots, moving my sata cables into the 6gbps slots, removing everything minus the keyboard and mouse (wireless on usb adapter)

    if someone could inform me how to get the computer on this board to not restart after a bsod would be good to get the bsod code and narrow it down, also i have not clean installed as there is a couple of things on my c drive i would like to retrieve

    i also study hnd tech support at college so have built a fair few 775 systems the past three years so have a good idea of what im doing but never a sandy which im thinking of flogging n sticking to good old 775 if i cant figure it out :cry:

    so yeah please guys any help:confused::respect: im due to bang my head and the pc off the wall :banghead:


    thanks

    white
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What hard drives? Existing installation? Double check to see if you have AHCI set in bios , if yes try setting to IDE.
     
    white phantom says thanks.
  3. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    yeah sorry forgot the hdds

    seagate baracuda 80 gig (boot and os drive)
    maxtor 250 gig (secondary)

    as i said i would preferably like to retrieve some stuff from the main os drive before a clean install and yeah i have tried both ide mode and ahci mode been googling a fair bit even tried auto and manual for various things and spread spectrum off, changing the load line calibration e.t.c
     
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,183 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,667
    need to rewrite OS
     
    white phantom says thanks.
  5. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    so if i clean install it should work ok? shall see if i can plug my sata into another pc i have kicking about and try rescue the files but do you think its this simple error hopefully?
     
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,183 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,667
    use a secondary disk to install windows or put your existing drive in another pc grab your files and rewrite
     
    white phantom says thanks.
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yup, that's all it is. You need a clean install. Could probably do a live distro of linux and use an external drive to save your files(if applicable). I am going to be doing the same thing soon, but in a different manner I have to kill my raid array with migrating to an Intel build.
     
    white phantom says thanks.
  8. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    ok thanks will do it just now tbh now i have calmed down a bit a find it rather funny how stupi di will feel when hopefully this fresh install works lmao :laugh::laugh:
     
  9. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    lol heres fingers crossed mate, still gonan feel rather stupid though :laugh::rolleyes: was simply the fact i thought the guy who sold me a board had screwed me n i had damaged my chip by placing it in it :laugh::laugh:, got it into my wee bros pentium 4 pc i gave them filling up there hdd with the files :toast:
     
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Don't worry about it. We all have those moments.:toast:

    PS:There is a multiquote button ------------------------------------> :p
     
    white phantom says thanks.
  11. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    lol you guys are gods :laugh: :D worked a charm i think here we go to reinstall everything tha but aw well had to be done

    another simple problem thanks a bunch guys :toast:
     
    AthlonX2 says thanks.
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    You are quite welcome!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page