1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help choosing a new SSD boot drive

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Covert_Death, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. Covert_Death

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    308 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Hey guys okay I was wondering if I could get some expertise in choosing a boot drive... here is what I'm really looking for in a drive:

    Price under $150!
    Sata3
    atleast 60Gb
    really strong read write speeds
    Great reliability

    here are the 2 drives im currently looking at:

    OCZ Vertex 3 (performance) 60Gb = $134.99
    OCZ Vertex 3 VTX3-25SAT3-60G 2.5" 60GB SATA III ML...

    Corsair Force GT series 3 (performance) 60Gb = $134.99
    Corsair Force Series GT CSSD-F60GBGT-BK 2.5" 60GB ...

    between these two, the corsair seems to have slightly better specs but i don't know much about SSD as i've never had one before.

    is there much of a performance difference between the vertex 3 and the agility 3 from OCZ and the force GT 3 vs the force 3 from corsair? the agility is only 106 and the force 3 is 109... can you really tell a difference with a $30 price increase? basically i will be willing to pay the extra 30 if it means better reliability, but if the reliability is compromised for increase speed i'd rather get one of the ~$109 ones.

    hope someone can help me out!
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2011
  2. Covert_Death

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    308 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    well the vertex 3 just dropped price literally over night haha!!! it is now 124.99 with a $10 mail in rebate, bringing it down to the price of a power 3...

    any objections to the vertex 3 anyone???
  3. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    wish Adata was still on sale about week ago adata had there S510 120gb sandforce SSD for sale

    550 reads 510 writes $160 for 120gb Mail in Rebate dropped it to $140 for 120gb maybe theyll go on sale again who knows
  4. Covert_Death

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    308 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    mmm that would have been a good one to grab
  5. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,898 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    If those are your options then there would be no objections from me on the Vertex 3. :D
  6. Covert_Death

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    308 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    well thats just what i came to on my own research, i really like them but if you all have any suggestions that would be comparable to those id be more then happy to listen!
  7. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    Covert_Death says thanks.
  8. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,898 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188

    If you're going to recommend the 120GB Agility 3 might as well recommend the Vertex 3 of the same capacity.

    OCZ Vertex 3 VTX3-25SAT3-120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III ...

    Also, don't forget to read this too Covert_Death: http://hardocp.com/article/2011/08/07/nand_flash_faces_off_synchronous_vs_asynchronous/6
    That's the last page, you can read that or if you want read the whole thing. Simply put, considering the price difference is "small" enough ($201-$175=$26) yet the performance gap is "big" enough (per review), you're better of with the one synchronous.
    Covert_Death says thanks.
  9. Covert_Death

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    308 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    what do you mean by the one that is synchronous? i am not quiet sure what this term means when applied to SSD's and how to know which are and which aren't
  10. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,898 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    To put it simply, that's how the chips on the drives themselves are set-up and "works." I would think a good analogy would be comparing a single-channel 2x2GB RAM (meaning each 2GB stick has its own channel) and dual-channel 2x2GB RAM (meaning the two are in one channel).

    Synchronous are usually used on the more expensive product lines, asynchronous for the "cheaper" (i.e. less expensive) ones. For OCZ for example, it's synchronous for Vertex 3 and Vertex 3 MAX IOPS while it's asynchronous for Agility 3 and Solid 3. For Corsair it's the Force GT that is synchronous and the Force Series 3 that is asynchronous. Prices along the product lines of the same company under the same category can serve as an indication.
  11. Covert_Death

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    308 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    ahhh okay, yea im skimming through the article now, good stuff to know!
  12. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    well entropy while your insight is noted the vertex 3 is still $200 not $150 user stated $150 price limit

    Force GT over Force 3 is massive price bump at 90gb

    and does asynchronus matter? no not really the speed of any SSD is to the point you wont feel or ever notice the difference between them mostly because there response is in the sub millisecond vs 14-18ms of an HDD per item read,

    how about recommending SSD's that fit the OPs price limit that would be a good start would it not

    while I agree that Vertex 3 and Force GT are better SSDs there not good enough to warrant the far higher price tag

    show me in real usage in daily tasks where the extra $50-70 gets you a boost worth paying for.

    if you absolutely must have performance lower capacity higher speeds is great but id recommend the extra storage space simply do to the fact over time youll want that extra space,
  13. Covert_Death

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    308 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Space doesn't bother me too much right now as I have two 500gb 7200rpm drives in raid that work well for mass storage I will be putting an OS and two games on the ssd for quicker texture loads but anything else I'm fine with on hdds
  14. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
  15. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    you also have to remember clutter over time, temp folders, app data caches etc take up space,

    typical game these days is 12-20gb, so on a 60gb ssd 1 large game + os + data cache = pretty much full SSD,

    just a 60gb ssd used on TPU's motherboard review OS up to date with all benchmarks installed to the SSD fills it completely,

    you will be surprised how quickly 60gb will fill if your a power user,
    Covert_Death says thanks.
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,533 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,929
    Vertex 3 is a good choice. Crucial M4 and other SSD's with that controller have pretty bad write bandwidth, they work fine for installing games on, but meh for O/S.
    Covert_Death says thanks.
  17. Covert_Death

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    308 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    yea win7 is usually 20gb i think but im going to move restore points to a 120gb drive i use soley for backups and that should bring the OS down to 7-8Gb if i remember correctly, i will be installing ArmA II and BF3 on the SSD (ArmA II is 15Gb and BF3 is roughly the same) so i should have just enough room with 60Gb...

    another question i have that some of you might be able to answer is how do i install the OS on one drive (the SSD) but make the C: drive my 500Gb drive?
    i want to do this so that when i install programs they will default to my 500Gb drive instead of the SSD, i would like to do this so that i know exactly what i put on my SSD and that i know everything else defaults to my bigger drive.
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,533 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,929
    Most installers are going to default to whatever drive your O/S is on, regardless of drive letter. When installing programs, you just need to set which drive to install to yourself.
  19. Covert_Death

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    308 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    darn, okay, i was kinda hoping programs just defaulted to "C:" so if i changed C then it would install where i wanted it to and not on the OS drive

    EDIT:
    okay im wondering now if something like this would work:
    http://www.online-tech-tips.com/com...ation-for-installing-applications-in-windows/

    if editing the registry file really changes the default location then i can change it to my raid drive but all the necessary system files would still go to the appropriate location on the OS drive
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2011
  20. TheOne

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    225 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2011
    Covert_Death says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page