1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help choosing graphic card

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Aleksander, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    I was searching the market for graphics cards but i have a strong question
    If i am supposed to buy a graphic card which requires the pci-e 6-pin adaptor
    how many amps does my psu need to give in the 12v rail? Is it the same for all?
    Mine is 24A
    My psu is a crap so any suggestions would be apprechiated
    Don't ask about what is in my country cuz there are all types
    Just the prices vary tremendously!
    Pls help ^_^
  2. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    kinda hard to find video cards just base on Amps, I believe each of my 6870 are ~13amp x2 6-pin.. A piece. PSU Rating: 62A..
    Aleksander says thanks.
  3. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    So all cards that use only 6-pin need at least 13amp?
    I don't really know but once i had a refurbished 9600gt from a friend of mine and it didn't work well
    It crashed a lot and i don't know if it was his card or my psu
    Now i remember that first it worked well for like 10 minutes
    than i gave it to him to make it better and it worked even worse
    for the second time crashing immediately when in games
    so i think it was the card bad (it was bought for 3$ :p)
  4. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    So you want a card that only uses one six pin connector? What is the make of your PSU? One 12V rail with 24 A, 550W? For example the recommendation for a GTX460 is 24A and 450W minimum and uses two six pin connectors. On the otehr hand the HD 5770 needs only one six pin for the same 450W needed.
  5. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    I don't know well what amperage pci-e connectors need, but cracker said ~13amp for 1 so it means 26 for 2. GTX460 needs 24A with 2, but i don't know if my psu supports 24A exactly, cuz it is a crappy one. My best bet would be for only 1 pci-e connector. Also, i don't think my psu has really 550w potential.

    Edit: It says 12V+ rail, 24 A, 550W
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012
  6. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    bump
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,490 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    What do you need a graphics card for?
  9. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Rendering but i am not rich to buy >400$
    3dsmax and maya are getting really annoying
    @brandon
    I found that one for 120$ (my country) so no way i am spending that much on psu
    Suggest in ebay pls, don't think newegg has shipping to my country
    (unless i dont know :D)
    Also, no 40A needed. I just want a gpu with one single 6-pin so
    i thing my psu will take it. If not i will buy psu after buying the card
    The max would be 13A and my psu writes 24A so i think lowering a 10A
    wont make any damage to be in.
    Any suggestions on gpu with 13A? So i want to know if 550GTX uses 13A
    or 5770, or wait for 7 series to buy one, or buy a 6850 used when 7 series is out
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012
  10. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    bump
  11. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,604 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,802
    Location:
    Oregon
    So stop with the amps stuff. WHAT PSU do you have? And what do you ant to do?
  12. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    i have a 550W as described before with 24A in 12V+ rail
    I want to render with low money like 120$
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Look into maybe 6670.
    _JP_ and Aleksander say thanks.
  14. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Gts450
  15. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    bump
  16. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    Give us a list of Software you are using! Knowing at least that will help us help you... I know you said Maya and 3dsMax, which version?
  17. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    My old 9600GT served me well and i plugged it on a 18A max current PSU and it required "24A" as well (the 24A is overall system draw anyway), except the PSU is high quality and served me for 7 years before i finally retired it (it still works, just here for backup)
    My (retired) 9600GT draws around ~6.5 to 9A if i remember correctly (found it on a list of current draw of cards, forgot where i saw em)
    Aleksander says thanks.
  18. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Aleksander, what is the make and model of your PSU. That would be really helpful in determining what GPU you can go with. Some power supplies DO NOT run at their advertised specs, which could in turn fry your whole computer if it decides to have a meltdown.

    At any rate, your 24A PSU is capable of running at a maximum of 288w. However, I wouldn't dare push it that hard if it's a crappy power supply. So lets say you'd want to stay around 235w to be on the safe side.

    I think an ATi 6850 would probably be the most powerful card you could use in your system. Maybe a 5850, but that would be seriously pushing it, however, it is more powerful than a 6850.
    Aleksander says thanks.
  19. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    yeah, it could be some cheap made PSU for all we know, and maybe it can t even push that hard, specially if its not a true rated one.
  20. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Exactly, there's so many really crappy PSU's out there that can't even run close to their advertised specs.
  21. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Voltage stability can be the issue as well (ripple and noise) this is one of the culprits in making the system unstable and can even potentially damage the hardware.

    I wonder how the cheap PSU makers can get away with labeling their PSU high (when even when you actually compute the load distribution from the spec wont even reach the rated load lol).

    Im using a cheap PSU on my old rig tho (surprisingly it survived for years), but the pc's purpose is mostly for browsing and is barely used, i dont want to slap anything that would stress it lol.
  22. timma New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    86 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    6850 OC or GTX 550 Ti OC~they are one 6-pin power cards.
  23. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    What do you mean by rendering? GPUs don't do the rendering in 3dsmax/maya. It's entirely done by the CPU. If you mean viewport viewing/rendering then yes, the GPU does matter I guess, but personally I never experienced a big improvement (if at all) going from 8800 GT to GTX 460, then again both are more powerful than your card, so yours might be too slow for the complexity of the scenes you are creating. I don't work with uber complex scenes enough to being able to compare the same complex scene with different cards, so I can't help you there. Complex scenes have always been slow no matter the hardware, that's all I know lol.

    Anyway the only time I've seen a real improvement was with professional OpenGL cards like Quadro or FireGL for workstations, but those are way out of our league. :ohwell:
  24. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    1) My psu brand is ATX. It has german writtings i don't know what and it says 550W 24A 12v+
    It is a crappy psu
    2) The softwares i am using and i would say the most heavy (by gpu not cpu) are:
    Photoshop CS5, Maya 2012, AutoCad 2007, 3DS max 2010, SKYRIM and Assasin's Creed Revelations.
    This is all i am running which need more graphics but i am more interested in 3DS max.
    3)By rendering i mean this:
    Ati FireGL V8600
    [​IMG]
    Nvidia Quadro FX5800
    [​IMG]

    I know the prices but i am talking about old
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2012
  25. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page