1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help!!! Computer Is Freezing For No Reason

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Astronautcowboy, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. Astronautcowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ok, so sunday night and every other day before that, my computer has been fine. But on monday it starts freezing for no good reason at all. I haven't installed anything. It just freezes. So I thought it was the graphics card so I upgrade the driver. No. I CCleanered the computer. No. Reinstalled flash. No. Scanned for viruses. No. Reinstalled Firefox. No. I Can't seem to figure out what is causing this problem.

    I got some pictures of the event log. There are 3 errors that I get when I freeze. Also, the computer starts making a infinitely long beep sound.

    Dell dimension 8400
    Pentium 4 3.00 Ghz
    2x 512mb DDR2-533
    Radeon x300 GPU

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2009
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,133 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Please post your system specifications, but I suspect (guess) your power supply may be on the way out.
  3. Astronautcowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The computer runs fine in safe mode I don't think that is it.
  4. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    can you replicate the freeze? Are you running a particular program when it freezes?
  5. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Are you running any Firewall software? Blackice?
  6. Astronautcowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Nope I am just browsing firefox with my music and then it just freezes with a long beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep until I cut the power and restart it. I am running AVG antivirus and a firewall but those haven't ever given me any problems. I also tried jsut browsing with Chrome but that doesn't help.
  7. Dan2312 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    England!
    Samething i was gonna say. 2up on that one.
  8. Astronautcowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Alright my friend said he had the same problem with AVG so I uninstalled that and now I'm just testing it.
  9. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    have you moved the pc around recently? you might have a loose sata connector.
  10. Astronautcowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well, I did smack it a couple of times on the side but no big movement. I think it is the avg problem.

    UPDATE: It is not avg. It must be something else.
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2009
  11. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    1 Long beep - Memory refresh circuitry has failed which indicates a problem with the motherboard. Try reseating the memory modules. Make sure if you have added memory that it is rated at the correct speed for the system.
  12. Astronautcowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ran memtest86 no errors 1 pass. Disk defragged. Good boost of speed but didn't work. However I did notice that when I start safe mode without networking or internet, it runs fine and didn't freeze when I was defragging. What should I do now?
  13. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    what OS are you using?
    you might wanna try "system restore".....

    and just something that hit me! did the internet browser do any update?
  14. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    906 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    complete reinstall time, i wouldnt bother fixing the error as it could be anything
  15. Astronautcowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I tried to restore but it wouldn't let me restore back to the point of last week before the problem began. And lately, I've been switching between Firefox 3 and 3.5. I'm on 3.5.1 now since it's the newest one. We'll see what happens. I really don't want to reinstall cause I don't have backup and I can't lose any data.
  16. Astronautcowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Should I do a repair install of xp now? I can't do a clean install cause then I'll lose my data
  17. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    can you do a stress test for us? OCCT or prime 95?

    Its TBD if your issues are caused by dying hardware or software. Intel Burn Test (google) will take 15 mins to determine if your rig is stable.

    If its a hardware issue, then there is no point in re-installing anything as it will all be there when and if the install ever finishes.
  18. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    chenge your sata cable of ur hard disk...buy a new one...it will fix ur problem
  19. k0rn_h0li0 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,180 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Hometown CALI, Current WI.
    back up. run tests. test each part out. most likely like everyone else says. PSU is about to be outta the door.
  20. Astronautcowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ran Intelburntest.
    [​IMG]

    I really don't think it's the PSU cause it jsut cant get messed up in one day right?
    phanbuey says thanks.
  21. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    that is exactly what I thought at first too... he listens to music which means a constant access to the disk... And i have had a loose sata cable react just like that in the past (which is why I asked if you have been moving the computer around). Everything fine then HARD LOCK...
  22. Astronautcowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So should I check my sata cable?
  23. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    yeah or just get a new one. its $4 - if you even have sata that p4 rig may be IDE
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2009
  24. Astronautcowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah I'm pretty sure it's sata. My DVD drives are ide. I was wrong it did do it in safe mode.
  25. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    ok... try plugging the HDD into a different sata port... make sure the cable is firmly in the drive.

    and reboot.

    I would also back up all your data that you do not want gone at this time. DVD's or a cheapo HDD w/e.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page