1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HELP - Computer start up - screen black??

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by jsabo, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. jsabo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have seen plenty of stuff on the internet about this but want to get opinions on here. I turn my computer on with the monitor on but the screen remains black. the power indicator on my monitor is on but flashing like it is waiting for a signal. when i turn on my computer, the fans on the inside rev up as normal but then quickly die down to what seems like below-normal operating levels. a few weeks ago, my computer would occasionally freeze up with a distorted version of whatever was on the screen.

    is it a failing psu? failing gfx card? ram? thanks.
     
  2. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,795 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    Location:
    New York
    Post your system specs to help us help you.
    Also can you get on the system at all to see the system logs?
     
  3. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,634 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    any beeps?
     
  4. jsabo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no beeps or anything like that. i am unable to do anything.

    CPU: amd phenom II x4 965 BE
    RAM: Corsair dominator 4 gig
    MOBO: biostar 890fxe
    GPU: xfx radeon 5850
    PSU: thermaltake 850w black widow (i heard some bad things about this after my purchase)
     
  5. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    You have to isolate the issue. If you have a multimeter, you can check the PSU eaily.

    Make sure cpu is set properly. If the motherboard does not have a micro speaker, pick one up and check the beep codes.
     
  6. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,795 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    Location:
    New York
    My guess is the ram on the GPU or at least the GPU is the culprit here. Do you have an extra video card to test?
     
  7. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    How many ram sticks ? Take them out and put them back. If more than 1 try 1 at time.
     
  8. jsabo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i do not. i was considering upgrading but would rather not think about it until the issue is isolated. pretty much a noob here, a lot of suggestions you may come up with might be beyond me...
     
  9. jsabo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have two sticks. ill try that. anyone concur?
     
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,130 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,657
    Wait a second. Do you have a IGP?
     
  11. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,795 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    Location:
    New York
    I looked at his mobo specs and he does not.:mad:
    Well after testing your ram and find it to be okay or not I would pull the graphic card and take it to a local shop to test.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2013
  12. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    348 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I think it's the PSU. Can you borrow a PSU from a friend? You can verify whether the PSU is the culprit of the issues you are experiencing now by testing your PC with an other PSU. I believe the Thermaltake Black Widow makes use of a pretty poor HEC OEM, which seems to be pretty bad, i.e. noises/ripples that are going haywire and that's bad for your PC hardware, and actually can damage PC hardware. Just hoping that the damage isn't already done because of such PSU.
     
  13. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    A cheap multimeter will determine the problem. It is not like everyone has a spare PSU laying around plus the fact he won't have to rip everything apart.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page