1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help connecting my PC to TV

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Fif23, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey, I have a 8800GT graphics card with a component 7 pin connection.
    I bought a 7 pin-to-RCA cable, connected one end to the TV, the other to the card, put the TV on DVD/Game mode and I see nothing.. Why is that ?

    On the other hand I have an old computer with a 4 pin svideo out, that oned worked flawlessly ...

    Am I missing anything ?
     
  2. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    are you using a monitor at same time if you are you will need to set up dual monitor in the nvidia control panel
     
    Fif23 says thanks.
  3. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    yea you will have to set up the tv in the nvida control panel (help if you have the nvidia drivers not MS drivers). since you're using rca cables, i'd start with a res of 640x480 @ 59 or 60 htz and slowly go up from there
     
    Fif23 says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  4. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    its straight forward enough in the nvidia control panel :), also as silly as it sounds make sure your tv is on the right input
     
    Fif23 says thanks.
  5. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hmm, It's a problem, because I have to disconnect my PC and take it to the living room where the TV is.... They are not both connected at the same time (LCD and CRT TV)


    So do I have to connect both a DVI screen and a TV at the same time, then add another display in the control panel ?
     
  6. PC-Myths

    PC-Myths New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    145 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
    Yes, should be all :)
     
    Fif23 says thanks.
  7. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I am lost. Your card should have 3 outputs, the two DVI's and 1 S-video. It should have come with an S-Video to Component connector if I am not mistaken.

    When I connnected my card via this method, only the TV was connected and it came on just find. I had to make sure the TV was on before the computer was turned on, but that was all.

    What TV do you have. I mean I get that it is a CRT, but what model and what kind of connectors are on the back?
     
  8. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    That is correct, I have 2 DVI's and 1 S-Video.
    I do not have the cable that came with it, so I bought one (7 Pin S Video to RCA)
    My CRT is a Sony Wega Trinitron. It has 4 modes, each mode has 3 connectors, blue yellow and white.
     
  9. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Ok, 1 more and I may be able to solve your problem. The converter you bought as a S-video for the card one end and 3 connects for the TV on the other?

    If this is correct, that is not RCA that is component and the output is the three standard colors spectrum and all video out. RCA is 1 video and left/right speaker. It is normally colored Red/White/Yellow. A S-video to RCA should be a 1 to 1, S-video on one end and a single yellow output on the other and will NOT have a speaker output.

    The only way to output audio through an Nvidia card is through a DVI to HDMI converter.
     
  10. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    yup the sound goes though ur sound card generally
     
  11. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes that is what I bought ! 1 TO 1.
    7-Pin SVIDEO on one end (sticks to the card) and a 24k golden connector on the other hand (goes to the yellow socket in TV)

    Is that OK
     
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  12. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    for the picture yes for sound u nead an earphone socket to l+r audio
     
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  13. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    That is definitely connected correctly. If you are still not getting a picture, be sure the TV is ON and on the right settings to accept input from that plug array. Test it with another device if you need to to make sure it is right, as some of those TV's will have 2 or 3 RCA inputs. It may also be labeled if it is RCA input 1 or whatever.

    Then turn the computer ON after the TV is turned ON.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page