1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HELP - Drive not recognized in Windows 7 install

Discussion in 'General Software' started by phanbuey, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    Im having a hell of a time trying to install a clean install of windows 7 on a Samsung spinpoint f1 320GB drive.

    The BIOS sees the drive... BUT the RAID controller won't see it if I try to add it to an array.

    The command prompt (recovery prompt in w7 setup) also sees the drive as C:\, and can format it, rename it, etc... I can also browse the drive for drivers (its empty, but it shows up in the device list when if i click to install controller drivers)

    But when I go to try and install W7 to that drive it doesn't show up...

    :/ im a bit lost... also neither fixmbr or fixboot are part of the recover console on w7 so im stuck with chkdsk, which says the drive is fine, and format, which I have done twice...

    helppppp..

    I forgot to add that I have a second drive, a Seagate 500GB 7200.11, that DOES show up in the setup...
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2009
  2. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    446 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    So its an nvidia raid right? And you set it up in the bios as a raid?? Then launch the nvidia raid utility before running 7 setup? Ir tyin to raid the 2 drives? 0 or 1? 320 is secondary?
    phanbuey says thanks.
  3. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    no im trying to install it non -raid... just a straight one-drive install... it used to be part of a raid 0 array, but I formatted it.

    I just said the part about the raid because nvRaid setup doesnt see the drive even if I wanted to add it to an array (which i dont) - but the bios does see it :confused:.

    so i can see it in the drives listing in the bios and can select it to be boot drive, but when i press f10 to set up an array its gone.


    I can also read to and write from the drive in the recovery console off the w7 cd...
  4. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    446 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    Ohh ok...make sure the drive is the primary HD on HD sequence and HD is second on boot device priority. Then make sure raid is disabled in the bios...I would also disconnect the 500gb for now
  5. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    ok done... 500GB is off line. Drive is set to 2nd after CD... still no sign of it in the drive selection for the install...

    but damn... its definitely connected and writing and being read from...

    drive is set to IDE mode in the bios.
  6. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    446 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    R u still seeing Nvidia Raid utility after the BIOS post's? Can you save your current setting to a profile? If you can do that then load defaults..I think its still trying to find the raid..also no usb drives plugged in right?
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    update: got the drive to show in RAID setup but still no Windows setup
  8. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    446 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    What are your bios settings for the raid?

    And ur using 1 drive for raid??? that sounds like a problem
  9. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    sorry i have been unclear - I just used the raid setup to see if i could get the drive to behave normally - it did.

    I dont want any raid on the drive, just a normal install.

    raid is now disabled in the bios and the drive is set to normal SATA using IDE mode (non AHCI)

    but still not showing up as a drive in w7 setup.

    If i use the w7 recovery prompt off the CD i can see the drive, read to it, write from it, etc - its definitely there and working..

    I have reset the bios to defaults - as well, still no go. :/
  10. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    446 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    Crazy hahaha....Did you try the 500gb also and its not recognized? Try booting an xp/vista disk see if the drive is regognized by those OSs.
  11. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami

    the 500GB IS recognized. :/ Ive even switched the sata cables. :confused:

    This is f*** weird.
  12. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    446 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    No shiz....do you a hirens boot disk??
  13. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    im in diskpart now in command prompt (from the CD)... it sees the disk as disk 0, online, everything looks fine... hmmmmmmmm... need more experience with diskpart tho - no idea what the syntax is lol.

    I have a bootdisk and it also sees the drive and can write to it...
  14. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    diskpart reports that eveything is healthy with the drive, NTFS format, Volume is healthy 298GB... g***mmit. i have no idea how to even fix this haha.
  15. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    446 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    phanbuey says thanks.
  16. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    FIXED IT...

    JESUS......

    OK.

    All i did was go
    Diskpart> select disk 0
    then
    Diskpart> clean

    and it worked!!!

    :banghead: that was ridiculous.

    :toast: to you chisox for helping
    ChiSox says thanks.
  17. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    446 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    Yeah seemed like the drive was thinking it was some other foreign being and windows doesnt do NaNu NaNu...Glad to see your up :toast:
  18. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    ^^ LOL

    damn... now i have to rebuild the MBR. what a PITA
  19. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    446 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    If they werent a pain what would we get to tinker with?? I love running into new issues...it helps when you come across it again

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page