1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help!!! fans turn on but does not beep

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by crysisfan12, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. crysisfan12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    first time builder I connected everything but the fans turn on but it does not post, any suggestions??

    The PSu fans spins the gpu fan spins and the dvd drive works (spins) so does cpu fan but I cannot see anything on my screen, is the motherboard faulty??? or ram or cpu I do not know? :(

    p5q-e asus motherboard
    q6600, 800mhz ddrs ram, radeon HD4850, corasiar 750w, itahci hard drive standard dvd rom drive
     
  2. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    I had the same problemwith my P5K, as did another member. If someone figures out how to fix this problem, they'll get coies on me... I could do with a spare system.
     
  3. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Ok, check behind the PSU a see if the red switch is on the # 250 or somewhere around there. It needs to be on 150 or somewhere around there.
     
  4. crysisfan12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no red switch on corsair TX750 psu :(
     
  5. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,189 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    823
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Just curious, you connected the Video cable (VGA or DVI) to the Video card and monitor right?
     
  6. crysisfan12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    dvi to monitor, yes does not post and there is noting on the screen
     
  7. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    Sounds like a power issue to the GFX card?
     
  8. crysisfan12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    dunno tried another 6 pin did not work, but there are two red leds that are on on top of the card
     
  9. kyle2020 Guest

    either that or a monitor issue - check the fuse in your monitor, may sound silly but make sure its switched on, check your GFX card is seated correctly, etc etc. Sometime my syncmaster doesnt show my pc, i usually have to unplug it and wait a few minutes, then re plug it in and it works.
     
  10. kyle2020 Guest

    posting your system specs will help us too ;)
     
  11. crysisfan12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    tried the things above, still does not post/beep :(

    specs:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. kyle2020 Guest

    i take it this was a pre-built system?
     
  13. crysisfan12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no I bought parts
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,966 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    You did plug the power supply into both the 24 pin and the 8 pin connectors on the motherboard, right?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. crysisfan12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wait one sec there is one 24 pin connecter for the mohterboard and another one which had 4 pins right next to it which I connected as well

    there is also another 4 pin one at the the top of the board do I connect that as well?
     
  16. kyle2020 Guest

    pictures if possible? try it now though, be careful mind.
     
  17. w2richwood New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Alta Loma Ca.
    try clearing cmos by pulling plug from wall then take out battery put ctr jumper on 2/3 or as manual says for ten min.s or so hope this helps
    Rich
     
  18. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    try replacing the CMOS battery as well.


    Is the CPU seated properly? Try removing the CPU from the socket and then reinstalling it.

    Also, ae you using a 3 or 4-pin CPU cooling fan?
     
  19. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,189 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    823
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    yes sir you need to connect the top 4 pin one. Thats the power for the cpu.

    24 pin goes to the power socket (usually the transparent or white one with multiple holes 24 pins)
     
  20. crysisfan12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    will try cmos battery but gpu is in way >_<

    pics I counted the pins on the psu 20+4 they can fit on this one, or does the 4 one need to go to the other one (pic below this one)

    [​IMG]

    or does the 4 pin go here??????

    [​IMG]
     
  21. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,189 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    823
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    follow the markings on the picture attached
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2008
  22. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Did you try just the VGA connection? If everything is spinning up, either you Graphics card isnt seated right, have enough power to it, or you are missing a connection. Last but not last, it could be you have a poor gpu.
     
  23. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha


    there should be a seperate 4-pin connector from the PSU for this header on the motherboard; typically it'll have two yellow wires, and two black wires
     
  24. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,189 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    823
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I am also thinking since 48xx series is a new just released GPU, the board might need a bios update to recogonize the GPU.
     
  25. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,926 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    US
    the 4pin thats connected to the 20 pin should be on the same bunch of wires.

    Check that you plugged the cable in the left DVI connector ( as if you were looking at the rear of the case ).

    Make sure you have pluged the mouse and keyboard in the right ps\2.

    Make sure the CPU is sitting right in the socket.

    make sure the CPU fan is connected to the right fan on the motherboard ( one should be marked for the CPU ).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page