1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help fitting arctic cooling s1 cooler on 8800gt

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Nick259, Oct 8, 2008.

1. Nick259

Nick259

Thanks Received:
    I've recently purchaced an arctic cooling s1 cooler which looks like this from the back, I assume it is rev 2:

[​IMG]

I don't want to screw it up as this is my first time changing a graphics card cooler, so i really need to know everything. I have some thermal paste, it's some arctic silver 5, I also have some thermaltake stuff if I don't have enough AS5. I have a total of 8 small ramsinks, a long one and something else ( it's in a sort of g shape). Also some screws.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,
    Nick

2. MRCL

MRCL

Thanks Received:
    Its an AC Accelero S2, not the S1 Rev2. At first things first, apply the RAMsinks, THEN continue with the actual cooler. I just mounted an S1 Rev2 to a 4850 today, but I guess its slightly different... as I have no clue about that g-shaped thingy. Refer to the manual, its quite accurate.

You do not need any supplement thermal grease, as the RAMsinks stick by themselves, and the Accelero has thermal grease already added to the copper plate.

Important is tho, that you clean off the remaining thermal grease on the GPU. Old thermal grease and fresh one do not like each other, and the heat transfer is not optimal! I use coffee filters for that, they do a good job.

Please tell us what further help you need.

3. ASharp New Member

Thanks Received:
    Mmm...no, I think that's an Accelero S1 rev 1. Accelero S2 has 2 heatpipes...the one pictured above has 4 which is indicative of the Accelero S1 with the old mounting system (rev 1). Either way, the installation method is the same.

4. Nick259

Nick259

Thanks Received:
    the thing that i am refering to as a g is the thing to the right in this picture (it really doesn't look like a g lol).

[​IMG]