1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help flashing gtx465 to gtx470

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by TheGrapist, May 22, 2011.

  1. TheGrapist

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    516 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    Northern California
    i want to try to flash my gtx465 to a gtx470.it's a zotac with a black pcb and from what i've read those usually do successfully flash to gtx470's.i can't get the heatsink off without stripping the screws(they are in there so tight,lol) so i'm unable to check if it has 10 ram chips or not.could anyone walk me through it? :eek:
  2. BinaryMage

    BinaryMage New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    609 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    This should do the trick.
    TheGrapist says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Can you take a picture of the backside of the card? You can tell if it has enough ram chips from the resistors/transistors.

    [​IMG]
    TheGrapist says thanks.
  4. TheGrapist

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    516 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    Northern California
  5. TheGrapist

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    516 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    Northern California
    ok,finished the flash,booting into windows and getting massive artifacting.hope it's just drivers :$
  6. TheGrapist

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    516 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    Northern California
    ok here's a pic......it has 10 but when i try to boot after i flash it to a 470 it has artifacts as stated above and i was able to open gpu-z nd it still said gtx 465.tips?anyone want to do it for me :roll:
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Sounds like it's just not flashable. Even though it does have the 10 ram chips it doesn't mean it will take the flash, you just have a better chance.
    TheGrapist says thanks.
  8. TheGrapist

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    516 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    Northern California
    lame,thanks for the help
  9. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,126 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Should up the vcore or lower the memory clocks by 100mhz or so and see if the artifacts go away.

    I would try flashing again with a different bios as well. After a flash the card should be rec as a 470 not a 465 still.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. TheGrapist

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    516 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    Northern California
    i'll try a zotac gtx 470 bios now
    tried tried a zotac bios ,doesn't have artifacts but it also isn't coming up as a gtx 470.....i guess it just can't unlock like erocker said
    Last edited: May 22, 2011
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,690 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    how many SPs does it report in GPU-Z??
  12. TheGrapist

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    516 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    Northern California
    same as before,352
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,690 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah. doesnt look like yours is going to unlock
  14. TheGrapist

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    516 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    Northern California
    i guess i should put my default bios back on :(

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page