1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help for my new Desktops' parts?

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by ConveX, Apr 11, 2013.

  1. ConveX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've been thinking that I might make use of the AMD EyeFinity software, could someone recommend me a monitor that will 'tile' nicely? I don't think I'd have room for say, three 27' monitors haha, so probably 24'? So not sure which ones to buy?
  2. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
    i would advice you to change crosair with cm saidon either 120xl or 240m. better price/performace rate and very good installation kit (but pump has build in blue led :(). from this review http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/CoolerMaster/Seidon_120XL/1.html you can see XL performs as well as corsair's H110 and some times even beats it. this review http://www.eteknix.com/cooler-master-seidon-240m-liquid-cpu-cooler-review/5/ is on 240m. ofc you have to check your local prices.
    as for the critics that cm used pvc instead of rubber tubbings if i remember well in the faq of the saidon on their site they stated that rubber tubes have higher evaporation rate then pvc one so they use pvc in order to reduce evaporation loses of the coolant since loop is closed and coolant cant be refilled. this ofc could be a technicle excuse for ussing cheaper parts in order to catch lower price tag.

    no matter what model/vendor you will chose there are 2 important things
    1. place radiator at the top of the case (trooper has planty space for both radiator versions 120 or 240mm and even for 360mm when you go custom wc) no matter what is written in the install manual.
    2. place fans in the way so that they blow air out of the case not in, no matter what is written in manual. leave 140mm back fan to blow out and beside 2 fron/side that blow in you could add 1 on the bottom to blow in if needed. this should give nice airflow inside case.

    PS check this http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=182713. guy with problem similar to your.
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2013
  3. ConveX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So where should I install the fan for the cooler? (I'm guessin the radiator is part of the fans?) I could put it in the rear fan slot if I take out the stock fan, would it still have the airflow? Or if I got the 240M where would I install that? on the roof of the case im guessing, but will it fit in the case top with efficient airflow?
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2013
  4. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
    radiator is separate from fans. but they are mounted one over another. on the top of the trooper there is plenty room for 360mm radiator so it will be better if you place it there. under the top dust filter there is 200mm fan. you can replace it with the radiator+fans. in this review http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1786/1/ there are some pictures with the roof panel removed. and here http://www.vortez.net/articles_pages/cm_storm_trooper_review,1.html you cans see some examples for water cooling assembly. here http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/cases_cooling/cm_storm_trooper_review/1 video review. here http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cases/2011/11/18/cm-storm-trooper-review/1 test with different drive bay setup.
    yes you will have air flow if you put 120mm radiator of the watter cooling instead of stock fan but it will be lowered because of radiator resistance. how much will be lowered i cant say before measurements are made (by me or someone else).
    if you mount on the top 240 you still will have flow from the 140 stock at the back to help to radiator fans (it doesnt blow in same direction but still it will remove heat from case.
    if you get 120mm and fit it on roof instead of 200mm fan and if you add next to the radiator another 120 or 140 then you will have 140 stock at the back + 2x120 that blow out heat at the top.
    if you check reviews you will see a lot of options you have just keep in mid that whatever you do you should make it so that no hot air goes inside case. this is adjusted with fan directions.

    PS just saw on reviews u cant mount on the top 360 w/o modding but you can mount it in front instead but this will mess up air flows so better dont do it.
    oh almost forgot. trooper has been reviewed from techpowerup as well so dont miss this review as well
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2013
    ConveX says thanks.
  5. ConveX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks a bunch man, this is really helpful information :) I think I'll get the CM Seidon 240M and mount it to the top, not sure how I'm gonna get the fans set up but I'm sure instuctions will come with the box haha. But anyway, I keep watching the install vids and with the mounting bracket/backplate/'tever its called haha, they keep pulling out the numbers 775, 1155/1556 & 1366 when it comes to the 'notches' on the bracket, which of these settings do I set it to? I'm using the AMD FX-8350 8 Core
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2013
  6. ConveX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've been thinking, that I would like to set up EyeFinity at some point (I know that I mentioned this earlier but I've been reading stuff on it and I keep wanting it more and more :D ) So, first question, can I set up EyeFinity with an MSI Radeon HD7970 3GB OC (It has 1xDVI 1xHDMI 2xMini-Display Ports) or do I need to crossfire them?
    Second question, what monitors should I look at getting (again I realise I asked about this similarly before) I've been thinking that to conserve deskspace but to still have high res I shouold either go for 20" or 24" monitors in a tri-monitor setup, so which monitors should I get that would be compatible? Thanks :D
  7. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
    none of them.
    you will set it to the AM3+ notches. you will get it from instructions
  8. ConveX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ah k, cool :)
  9. ConveX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've been thinking of OC-ing my Graphics card because it comes with software to do that, what can I use for extra cooling on my graphics card though?
  10. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
    if you dont go too hardcore with OC additonal fans on side cover of the case should be enough (this means you should go with non windowed cover). otherwise custom water cooling. custom water cooling however with good quality partrs could cost 450-500+ USD.
    your 7970 comes factory OC-ed so ocing has point if you have problems with performance with 3 monitors.
  11. ConveX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I suppose.. Maybe if I only OC it a little bit? Just to get that little bit higher than factory OC? My case (windowed) syas it has 2 side fan slots I can use, so I think I can mount them just under the window part because the window isn't huge and its dead centre of the case, otherwise I can probably set them up on the bottom with mounting brackets or something to aim at the GPU itself?
  12. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
    is that your card http://www.msi.com/product/vga/R7970-TF-3GD5-OC-BE.html#?div=Specification?
    check specifications of reference 7970 http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/7000/7970/Pages/radeon-7970.aspx#/3

    you already have +75mhz (125 with boost) above reference. your gain with "a little bit oc" will be so little that it wont wort cost of the additional fans you have to buy.
    better save money for water cooling and may be 2nd card. and when time comes buy and replace your cards with cards with preinstalled water block like this one http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=WC-059-OE&groupid=701&catid=56&subcat=938. this way you will you skip risk from damaging your card when you mount your water block and you will have new cards with new warrenty.
    if you remember in the beggining i told you that about Christmas are expected new gen cards from both amd and nvidia so you may end with new card/s :D.
  13. ConveX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    http://www.msi.com/product/vga/R7970-TF-3GD5-OC-BE.html#?div=Specification?, nah this isnt it.
    http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/7000/7970/Pages/radeon-7970.aspx#/3, this one looks like it though. I might not get a custom WC until I'm confident I can even assemble my current build haha, but when I get the extra $ I might sell my cards on e-bay and get the WC cards that you linked :)
    As for the new cards, they will more than likely cost a decent amount more than the current card I chose and I dont want to get too ludicrous on my "first" build haha ;)
  14. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
    well new cards will cost a lot but current will drop so its better to wait few mounts cause WC cards now cost quite a lot.
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,714 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,105
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Dell U2412M monitors have pretty small bezels. Would be good for eyefinity, but for Eyefinity you will need multiple GPUs (You already have 7970 Crossfire listed), and well crossfire is pretty broken right now so I would wait on that.

    AMD admitted to the issues, and should have a new driver out in the next few months to fix it.
  16. ConveX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'll look into them, I have a feeling I've used one before at TAFE and got some serious motion sickness whilst using it (I dont usually get motion sickness so this was weird for me) But I'll definately take a look :)

    On a side note thats kinda off-topic, how would I boot an ASUS V Formula Z mobo in UESI mode? I plan on overclocking and it says to go into UEFI mode, I've heard its pretty much the GUI version of BIOS but still it looks easier and 'friendlier' than the daunting style that regular BIOS uses haha :laugh: So yeah help on that is appreciated :D
  17. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
    user manual will tell you.
    before start with oc it will be better if you install win and drivers w/o oc. first make sure your rig runs smooth then start plaing with oc
    ConveX says thanks.
  18. ConveX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,086 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,377
    any monitor that has VGA/DVI/HDMI/DsP should be eyefinity capable

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page