1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HELP: Get a i7 930 or a Xeon 5620!?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by douglatins, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    I need to decine now, i'm getting a combo of RIIIE, 6GB and a 930 for 810 or 875 for the same with a 5620. What should i do, guy is waiting payment.
    I7930 is 2.8 45nm
    5620 is 2.4 32nm
     
  2. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    My guts say the Xeon. It all depends on what you wanna do with it though.
     
  3. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    OC it, and maybe possibly run it in a dualsocket mobo
     
  4. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Dual socket? Xeon then, definetly. I dunno how well Xeons clock though.
     
  5. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    People say they clock great and run cool since its 32nm
     
  6. DriedFrogPills

    DriedFrogPills New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    356 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    akaik Xeons clock better than consumer CPU's because they are better binned. The logic is so that they run cooler in server farms/data centers
     
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,142
    umm the Xeons that run dual socketed, AFAIK dont run on 1366 boards.
     
  8. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    I really dont think that is correcy
     
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,142
    What I mean to say it the 2 or 3 that will run in a dual socket also have and use dual QPI, I dont think a standard board will run those procs. If you dont pick one of those select few you can not run them in say an SR 2 (and you need two of them to fire the SR 2)
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2010
  10. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Dude said it ran fine one a RampageIII
     
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,142
    maybe it does just disable the dual QPI.
     
  12. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Not many info about this in the web
     
  13. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    dual qpi chips will run on x58 but single qpi chips will not run on the sr2.

    therefore, xeons will work on x58 but i7s wont work on the sr2.

    5620 is low end and has lowish multi.

    32nm chips dont get as high bclk due to the amount of voltage it takes to get bclk over 200. consider 200bclk your max, or very close to it.

    the 930 is your best option out of the 2 i say.

    if you must get xeons get a higher end chip or one with a higher multi at least.

    there are W series chips that are cheaper than the dual qpi E, L and X series ones.

    W is workstation, single qpi but are identical to the server chips, just lacking the 2nd qpi and advanced VT features.
     
    douglatins and sneekypeet say thanks.
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,142
    Sorry for the misinformation, glad fits could show up and set us all straight;)
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  15. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Ok i choose the 930
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page