1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help getting mp3's to play (ubuntu)?

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by kyle2020, Apr 27, 2008.

  1. kyle2020 Guest

    right, i recently downloaded and installed ubuntu linux to use as a homework OS - i have a problem. i like to listen to music whilst i work, but i need the internet to download the audio codecs (something called GStreamer audio something). i was wondering if there was any way of getting these codecs without the internet on linux, or is there an audio player i can dload and install?

    cheers!
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    why cant you just get gstreamer if you can download some other audio player?

    gstreamer is an audio codec, you need a codec to be able to play the mp3 file, in whatever program you use. you could alternatively get a converter which would convert the mp3 to another file such as ogg, etc.

    but just get gstreamer and be done with it :toast:
  3. kyle2020 Guest

    so its available as a download? could you provide a link? im sure ive serached for it before but never had any success :confused:
  4. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    go to add remove programs in ubuntu and search for gstreamer (make sure you change the thing in the top right so that its all applications) it'll download and install automatically.

    alternatively you might be able to do
    PHP:
    sudo apt-get install gstreamer-universe 
    in the terminal which will do the same thing.
  5. kyle2020 Guest

    like i said, i cant use the internet (no support for my wireless adapter) so im having to dload it on vista, save it to my external HDD and t=install it in ubuntu.
  6. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
  7. kyle2020 Guest

  8. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    no probs, glad to help.
  9. kyle2020 Guest

    i would give you 10,000 thanks but i can only give one! thank you so much!
  10. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    so im guessing it worked? and im always glad to help man.
  11. kyle2020 Guest

    it certainly did :D so now i have a no distactions place to do my homework :D just my music and openoffice to help! thanks!
  12. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    glad to see that it worked :toast: and you're welcome.
  13. Oliver_FF

    Oliver_FF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    546 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Out of sheer interest did you consider getting a cable and plugging your computer into the router for internet? Or are cables a thing of the past? XD

    Might help in the future for getting new software through "Add/Remove software" or the Synaptic Package Manager
  14. kyle2020 Guest

    would take alot of moving of things, alot of heavy expensive things haha. its all done now so im good :D
  15. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    what wireless card do you have?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page