1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help installing windows xp

Discussion in 'General Software' started by SiCk, Jun 18, 2006.

  1. SiCk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello

    I had bought a amd 3700+ 64, asus a8r-mvp, 2gb ram elixir, sapphire x1800xt, maxtor 300gb sata2 16mb.
    I installed windows 64bits and all go correctly. I had 64bits drivers for all components except for the 3com adsl usb modem... so i decided to install the 32bits version.
    Well, I don't know if my windows xp 32bits copy are broken, but when I reach the installation step where you must select the partition for install windows, the setup only renognize 125gb of the 300gb that the harddisk have.
    The rest comes correctly, but i only had 125gb of the 300 :s
    What can i do? I read that i must search for a drivers and copy it to a disk... but i dont know what and how to do this.

    I wish you could help me! many thanks!
  2. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Are you using an XP disk without any service packs? I know they have a problem with large drives. If you could try and borrow an XP disk with SP1 or 2 built in then this problem might disappear.
  3. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    there is no sp2 for win xp 64-bit
    but an sp1 that is what you get over windows update


    are you sure that your connector on the mainboard is s-ata2
    if not use a jumper to make the hdd s-ata1
  4. SiCk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello
    I use a 32bits old xp. But using the SATA drivers that comes in the motherboard CD the instalation detect me the whole HD all works fine.
    Now i'm downloading a XP 32bits with the SP2 integrated (for use with my original key, ofc!).
    Thanks all!
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2006

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page