1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HELP! Just installed new 5850, no signal to monitor!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by matteumayo, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    So I just uninstalled my drivers from my old 5770 using the "Reinstalling GPU Drivers" thread.

    The problem is, I just plugged in the 5850, the two 6-pin power connectors, and everything went just fine.

    But when I connected it to my monitor (I had to use a DVI to VGA adapter) and turned on the PC the monitor just sits idle with no signal...

    What do I do?

    I have no integrated graphics on the mobo, so I can't get to windows without reinstalling my 5770 (which would be a huge hassle).

    Here is what I did so far driver-wise:

    1. Opened the ATI Software Install Manager (I looked for the ATI Uninstall Utility but couldn't find it at all) from the control panel "Uninstall a Program"

    2. I did an Express Uninstall which uninstalls any ATI software/drivers, including the ATI Display Driver.

    3. I restarted.

    4. I went to Devices/Hardware and went to the Properties for the "5700 series ATI" and then Driver and then clicked Uninstall. This made my resolution very small, like usual in the past uninstalling cards.

    5. I turned off the computer.

    6. Now is the hardware part, nothing special here, just installed the new card.

    HELP! :(
    [/LIST]
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,525 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,045
    I would take the card out and re-seat it. Make sure its all the way in.

    Also could be power related, but that is a wild guess at best without any system specs to base that off of;)
  3. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6

    Okay, I'll try that out right now and post results.

    Thanks for the fast reply :)
  4. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I just took the card out completely and put it back in, still no signal.

    I also tried using the other port on the card, it didn't help.

    Any other suggestions?
  5. Jamborhgini313

    Jamborhgini313 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    205 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Try a different Dvi port
  6. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    What brand is it? I had a MSI card that had broken DVI ports. Try as many ports as you can and see if they work.
  7. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Already did :(
  8. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    There are two, tried both.

    So I have another DVI to VGA connector that seems it would also work but the little pins are quite a bit different from the one I've been trying.

    It might be worth it to mention that I bought this used and it was working perfectly before.
  9. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    It also may be worth noting that I am using a 4-pin Molex to 6-Pin adapter, since I only have one 6-pin connector on the PSU.

    Please help! :[
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,525 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,045
    what PSU, as I said it may be power related, the 58xx will require more power to run than the 5770.
  11. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    hec HP585D 585W ATX12V Power Supply - No Power ...

    I had checked previously on Tomshardware to see if it would work, and I got a yes from everyone that bothered posting.
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,525 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,045
    should power it at least long enough to get to windows.
  13. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Well if it matters at all I hear the card and the PC running like normal physically...

    Also the card's fan is spinning fine, and the card isn't too hot.
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,525 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,045
    thats good at least we know the card has power. I do know the DVI to VGA adapters do go bad. Maybe see if you can dig up another?
  15. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Check BIOS settings without new card. then install. What mobo?
    Edit; System specs?
  16. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6

    It's an ASRock mobo, I'll try that asap, eating right now.
  17. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I have another DVI to VGA connector but the pins on the DVI side are quite a bit different.

    Should I try it anyway?
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,525 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,045
  19. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    It's like the top one but on the right where that long thin, line-looking one is, that's a cross that has an upward line as well.
  20. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    As long as it seats it should be fine.
  21. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Okay I'll try that out, and if that doesn't work I'll try what you said previously.
  22. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Shoot, turns out that other adapter doesn't fit.

    I was looking at it upside down :\

    Namslas, when you say check BIOS settings without the card, what do you mean?

    I don't have onboard video, the only other option right now is reinstalling the 5770...
  23. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Can you check a different psu with it ?
  24. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    You mean change PSUs?

    Or put the card with another PSU?

    I can't do either atm, no other rig and this is the only PSU I have right now. :(
  25. matteumayo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Also, I hear the short beep I usually do while it's loading on startup, if that matters.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page