1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help! Maximus IV Extreme-Z BIOS 3203

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by fullinfusion, Mar 22, 2012.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,237 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Got a new bios for the Maximus IV Extreme Z68 installed for the migration of the 3770k cpu and there is a few different items now to choose from.

    Maximus IV Extreme-Z BIOS 3203
    1.Improve system stability.
    2.Improve memory compatibility.
    3.Support new CPUs.
    * Enable support for Intel Next Gen 22nm Processor E1 stepping MP version CPU.

    I get this new item to change but not sure if I leave it alone or not.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    I noticed that on mine as well....not sure either. It says something about above 4G...I may see what mine does since I have above that assuming it means Gb lol
     
  3. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Just out of curiousity I tried it and when I got into windows I checked system properties to see how much ram was usable. With 16Gb installed only 13.XX was usable. Apparently it remapps the memory to be used with the PCI devices from what I've been reading. More or less here's what I've found and better explained .vs MS info lol (go figure)

    And here's what MS says about it
    Code:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/978610
    Hope it explains a bit, I changed mine back to default setting as I like to use what I have when the app needs it ;)
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    its for running xp 32bit
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,237 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    So your saying it should be off for 32bit?
     
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i always turn it off.

    its for when you run xp32 and have 4gb ram.

    it remaps the ram so that 32bit OS can use most of it.

    not sure why they are still putting it in bios's but i suppose its not a bad thing
     
    chevy350 and fullinfusion say thanks.
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,237 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Will keep that in mind next time.

    I dumped the latest bios as it wont boot up at anything more then X48 multi.
    Was a pain but if you know how to use the flash back with out flashing the wrong chip your good to go :wtf:
     
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ROG connect with flashdrive works perfect
     
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,237 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    I was on bios #1 and wanted to flash bios 2 with Flash back to bios #1 but it didnt happen lol, bios 1 was good and thats what I wanted to flash #2 with but Insted I flashed #2 to #1 lol

    Takes a while flashing bios to bios chip hey! Takes like 5 min with this...:rolleyes:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page