1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help me build a budget AMD pc :)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by SirJangly, Jul 24, 2009.

  1. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Its a good case, I'm actually using the same case, except mine came with a PSU. However that case costs more than the one's we've recommended which is going to eat a piece of your budget and therefore limit you to a slower processor or video card etc. The case will play a small factor in overclocking any adequate case would do that can accommodate 120mm at the rear and 120mm at the front.
  2. Dreadnought33

    Dreadnought33 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    The Elite is a good chassis, but bear in mind that it has only 7.5" width which could limit you if you choose to install a tower heatsink
  3. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    Shipping on the $24.99 case brings it right on the heels of the free shipping $39.99 case. A few dollars difference is no big deal to me if its a higher quality product.

    What is a tower heatsink? Does that go on the proc?
  4. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    I just realized no one has asked what resolution I will be playing games on :).

    Most likely 1440x900 and 1650x1050 max.

    Does this affect any reccomendations made thus far?
  5. Dreadnought33

    Dreadnought33 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    Yes, it's the CPU's heatsink. This one is a good example of tower heatsink:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233029

    Regarding your LCD's resolution, I think a Radeon HD4870 is a bit overkill. You could do perfectly fine with a Radeon HD4850 512 MB
  6. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    1440x900 is an easy resolution to run, shouldn't have a problem with that what so ever. I'm not sure about 1650x105 but anything at the 4870s level and higher shouldn't have an issue.

    If you are unsure about how well games will play take a look at this comparison review. (Although its about the GTX 295 it has other video cards in it too) http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Inno3D/GeForce_GTX_295_Platinum/7.html


    Edit:


    The $79.99 case and the $24.99 case seemed very similar, however the $79.99 case came with a 500w Rosewill PSU whereas the I found a $49.99 550w Rosewill PSU which works out cheaper when bought with the $24.99 case.

    ..wait a min, there was no $39.99 case?
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2009
  7. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    AMD system build FTW:rockout:
  8. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    Oops it is 44.99. I just like free shipping on whatever I buy because it will save a lot with all of these components :)
  9. Zoelef New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    <Build deleted, CPU incompatible with motherboard>
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2009
  10. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Why would anyone buy windows? :laugh:
  11. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    I want to play some games :)
  12. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    I read in another post that AMD is releasing new budget processors in two weeks that are much better than what is currently out. Is this true? If so, maybe I can buy the 245, and exchange it when those come out?
  13. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    Also, I see that there are a bunch of good combos with the x4 945. The mobo's basically come out to be like $15 after the savings!
  14. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    Also, as far as graphics go, is the 4870 better than the 250? Sorry for all the questions, I have so many! :(
  15. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    The ATI 4870 is faster than the GTS 250.

    If your budget allows I'd recommend getting a Phenom X3 or X4, the 945 and 955 are a good choice, but that will put you over budget by over $100. Your best chances to stay within your $500 budget would mean purchasing the Athlon II X2.


    AMD are releasing the new Athlon II X4s, they are suppose to be priced bellow $100 with performance rumoured to lay between the X3 720 BE and X4 810. On the release date do not expect the pricing to be good immediately, it usually takes a few weeks for the prices to stabalise.

    SirJangly, I think he is talking about one getting the software through other methods. Wink wink.
  16. SirJangly

    SirJangly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Antioch, CA
    Would you guys suggest an x4 945 if the budget allows it?
  17. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
  18. Zoelef New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Let me try this again:

    $174 - Athlon X2 7850 + Vista x64 + Win7 upgrade
    $144 - Sapphire HD4830 + Biostar TA780G AM2+ Motheboard
    $130 - Antec Three Hundred + Basiq 430W PSU + 4 GB Corsair DDR2-800 RAM
    $60 - Western Digital 640GB WD6400AAKS
    $27 - Samsung SATA DVD Burner

    Subtotal $551.

    I splurged a bit on the hard drive as for $11 more I was able to get a 640GB instead of a 320GB, but after a certain point it's a drag because there's a minimum cost to so many of these parts.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page